Breaking news

IMSA Road Atlanta: Nasr keeps Action Express on top in FP2

Felipe Nasr ensured Action Express Racing retained its position of preeminence as IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship teams continued to prepare for tomorrow’s six-hour race at Michelin Raceway Road Atlanta.

#31 Whelen Engineering Racing Cadillac DPi, DPi: Pipo Derani, Felipe Nasr, Filipe Albuquerque

Ex-Formula 1 racer Nasr lapped the 2.54-mile course in 69.023sec, half a second faster than another Cadillac DPi-V.R of Renger van der Zande, who in turn was a mere 0.043sec ahead of Tristan Nunez’s fine effort in the fastest of the two Mazda RT24-Ps.

Sebastien Bourdais’ 69.753 put the #5 JDC-Miller Cadillac fractionally ahead of Harry Tincknell in the second Mazda, while the Acura Team Penske ARX-05s were almost a full second off the pace.

Simon Trummer put PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports top of the two LMP2 entries, around 2.5sec behind the top DPi time.

Connor De Phillippi, who so nearly won at VIR last week, topped GT Le Mans in his Rahal Letterman Lanigan-run BMW M8 by almost half a second, with Laurens Vanthoor second in the Porsche 911 RSR and Antonio Garcia third for Corvette Racing.

GT Daytona promises a frantic scrap, both for this evening’s qualifying session and tomorrow’s race, with 11 cars covered by 0.85sec. Steijn Schothorst’s Grasser Racing Team Lamborghini Huracan – which this weekend he’ll share with the underrated Richard Heistand and GT star Richard Westbrook – clocked a 1min20.346sec lap.

That was 0.133sec faster than Jan Heylen, who joins Pat Long and Ryan Hardwick in the Wright Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R this weekend, and 0.155 ahead of Frankie Montecalvo’s Lexus RC F of AIM Vasser-Sullivan.

The two Meyer Shank Racing Acura NSXs sandwiched Robby Foley’s best in the Turner Motorsports BMW M6, while Jeff Westphal overcame a turbocharger-induced delay to the start of his track time to take seventh for WeatherTech Racing’s Scuderia Corsa Ferrari 488.

Qualifying begins at 6.35pm local (Eastern) time.


FP2 results:

Cla Num Driver Class Chassis Time Gap
1 31 Brazil Felipe Nasr
Portugal Filipe Albuquerque
Brazil Pipo Derani
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'09.023  
2 10 Netherlands Renger van der Zande
Australia Ryan Briscoe
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'09.534 0.511
3 77 United Kingdom Oliver Jarvis
United States Tristan Nunez
France Olivier Pla
DPi Mazda DPi 1'09.577 0.554
4 5 Portugal Joao Barbosa
France Sébastien Bourdais
France Tristan Vautier
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'09.753 0.730
5 55 United States Jonathan Bomarito
United Kingdom Harry Tincknell
United States Ryan Hunter-Reay
DPi Mazda DPi 1'09.794 0.771
6 6 Colombia Juan Pablo Montoya
United States Dane Cameron
DPi Acura DPi 1'09.954 0.931
7 7 Brazil Helio Castroneves
United States Ricky Taylor
DPi Acura DPi 1'09.957 0.934
8 85 Brazil Matheus Leist
South Africa Stephen Simpson
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'10.638 1.615
9 52 United States Patrick Kelly
Switzerland Simon Trummer
Scott Huffaker
LMP2 ORECA LMP2 07 1'11.570 2.547
10 18 United States Dwight Merriman
United Kingdom Kyle Tilley
United States Colin Braun
LMP2 ORECA LMP2 07 1'12.334 3.311
11 25 Canada Bruno Spengler
United States Connor de Phillippi
GTLM BMW M8 GTE 1'16.875 7.852
12 912 New Zealand Earl Bamber
Belgium Laurens Vanthoor
GTLM Porsche 911 RSR - 19 1'17.351 8.328
13 3 Spain Antonio Garcia
United States Jordan Taylor
GTLM Corvette C8.R 1'17.383 8.360
14 24 Finland Jesse Krohn
United States John Edwards
GTLM BMW M8 GTE 1'17.415 8.392
15 911 United Kingdom Nick Tandy
France Frédéric Makowiecki
GTLM Porsche 911 RSR - 19 1'17.442 8.419
16 4 United Kingdom Oliver Gavin
United States Tommy Milner
GTLM Corvette C8.R 1'17.558 8.535
17 11 United States Richard Heistand
Netherlands Steijn Schothorst
United Kingdom Richard Westbrook
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 1'20.346 11.323
18 16 United States Ryan Hardwick
United States Patrick Long
Belgium Jan Heylen
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 1'20.479 11.456
19 12 United States Townsend Bell
United States Frankie Montecalvo
United States Aaron Telitz
GTD Lexus RC F GT3 1'20.501 11.478
20 86 Germany Mario Farnbacher
United States Matt McMurry
Japan Shinya Michimi
GTD Acura NSX GT3 1'20.666 11.643
21 96 United States Bill Auberlen
United States Robby Foley
United States Dillon Machavern
GTD BMW M6 GT3 1'20.879 11.856
22 57 Portugal Alvaro Parente
Canada Mikhail Goikhberg
United States Trent Hindman
GTD Acura NSX GT3 1'20.929 11.906
23 63 United States Cooper MacNeil
Finland Toni Vilander
United States Jeff Westphal
GTD Ferrari 488 GT3 1'20.973 11.950
24 14 United Kingdom Jack Hawksworth
United States Michael de Quesada
Canada Daniel Morad
GTD Lexus RC F GT3 1'20.983 11.960
25 44 United States Andy Lally
United States John Potter
United States Spencer Pumpelly
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 1'21.031 12.008
26 74 United States Gar Robinson
United States Lawson Aschenbach
United States Ben Keating
GTD Mercedes-AMG GT3 1'21.066 12.043
27 48 United States Bryan Sellers
United States Madison Snow
United States Corey Lewis
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 1'21.192 12.169
28 23 United Kingdom Ian James
Canada Roman De Angelis
GTD Aston Martin Vantage GT3 1'21.703 12.680
Previous article IMSA Road Atlanta: Derani, AXR lead opening practice
Next article IMSA Road Atlanta: Acura, Porsche, Lexus take poles