Formula 1
28 Mar
FP1 in
64 days
Emilia Romagna GP
18 Apr
Race in
87 days
25 Mar
Next event in
62 days
Argentinian GP
08 Apr
Next event in
76 days
Formula E
Diriyah ePrix I
26 Feb
Next event in
35 days
Diriyah ePrix II
27 Feb
Next event in
36 days
Daytona Clash
09 Feb
Next event in
18 days
Daytona 500
09 Feb
Next event in
18 days
09 Apr
Next event in
77 days
16 Apr
Next event in
84 days
17 Mar
Next event in
54 days
29 Apr
Next event in
97 days
26 Feb
Next event in
35 days
18 Mar
Next event in
55 days

Sebring 12 Hours: Prime title contenders lock out front row

Sebring 12 Hours: Prime title contenders lock out front row

Ricky Taylor of Acura Team Penske took pole ahead of his father’s Cadillac driven by Renger van der Zande, setting up a thrilling start to tomorrow’s 2020 Sebring 12 Hours.

Taylor’s #7 Acura ARX-05 lapped the iconic 3.74-mile course in 1min46.874sec to beat Renger van der Zande’s Wayne Taylor Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R by a quarter second, as the two enter the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship finale just two points apart.

Dane Cameron missed out on making it an all-Acura front row by 0.015sec but claimed third ahead of Sebastien Bourdais in the JDC Miller Motorsports #5 entry.

A brave effort from Tincknell netted fifth spot for Mazda ahead of Action Express Racing’s Pipo Derani, the second Mazda of Oliver Jarvis, and Matheus Leist in the second JDC Miller Cadillac.

In LMP2, Patrick Kelly put PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports on pole, 1.77sec faster than Naveen Rao in the Inter Europol Competition, with John Farano of Starworks and Don Yount of Performance Tech Motorsports in third and fourth respectively.

There was a surprise in GT Le Mans, as the Porsche 911 RSRs which had dominated practice were found down in fifth (Nick Tandy) and sixth (Neel Jani, 0.934sec slower ahead of his first GT race.)

Instead it was 2020 champion elect Antonio Garcia who delivered the top time – a 1min55.456sec – to deliver his second pole position of the season by a convincing 0.660sec ahead of Connor De Phillippi in the #25 BMW M8.

Jesse Krohn was a further 0.2sec down in the second BMW, but ahead of the second Corvette of Tommy Milner.

In GT Daytona, former Champ Car racer Jan Heylen got his tires up to temperature, delivered a stunning one-and-done flyer of 2min00.844 and then immediately pitted his Wright Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3R to leave his rivals to try and match it.

They didn’t come close, Andrew Davis finishing second but 0.7sec off in the Hardpoint Racing Audi R8, just enough to nip ahead of the fastest AIM Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F, the #14 car of Aaron Telitz.

Richard Heistand was the fastest of the Lamborghini Huracan drivers, delivering P4 for Grasser Racing Team, while Cooper MacNeil did a fine recovery job after a spin to deliver fifth for Scuderia Corsa, ahead of the second Lexus of Frankie Montecalvo.

Robby Foley’s BMW M6 of Turner Motorsport will line up seventh ahead of Shinya Michimi who is hoping to help Mario Farnbacher and Matt McMurry earn GT Daytona championship honors this weekend in the #86 Meyer Shank Racing Acura NSX.

Cla Num Driver Class Chassis Time Gap
1 7 Brazil Helio Castroneves
United States Ricky Taylor
United States Alexander Rossi
DPi Acura DPi 1'46.874  
2 10 Netherlands Renger van der Zande
Australia Ryan Briscoe
New Zealand Scott Dixon
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'47.125 0.251
3 6 Colombia Juan Pablo Montoya
United States Dane Cameron
France Simon Pagenaud
DPi Acura DPi 1'47.140 0.266
4 5 France Sébastien Bourdais
France Tristan Vautier
France Loic Duval
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'47.209 0.335
5 55 United States Jonathan Bomarito
United Kingdom Harry Tincknell
United States Ryan Hunter-Reay
DPi Mazda DPi 1'47.245 0.371
6 31 Brazil Felipe Nasr
Brazil Pipo Derani
Colombia Gabby Chaves
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'47.327 0.453
7 77 United Kingdom Oliver Jarvis
United States Tristan Nunez
France Olivier Pla
DPi Mazda DPi 1'47.474 0.600
8 85 Brazil Matheus Leist
South Africa Stephen Simpson
Australia Scott Andrews
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'47.696 0.822
9 52 United States Patrick Kelly
Switzerland Simon Trummer
United States Scott Huffaker
LMP2 ORECA LMP2 07 1'51.373 4.499
10 51 Poland Jakub Smiechowski
United States Naveen Rao
United Kingdom Matthew Bell
LMP2 ORECA LMP2 07 1'53.147 6.273
11 38 United States Don Yount
United States Patrick Byrne
United States Guy Cosmo
LMP2 ORECA LMP2 07 1'54.045 7.171
12 8 Canada John Farano
Denmark Mikkel Jensen
Denmark David Heinemeier Hansson
LMP2 ORECA LMP2 07 1'54.194 7.320
13 3 Spain Antonio Garcia
United States Jordan Taylor
Netherlands Nick Catsburg
GTLM Corvette C8.R 1'55.456 8.582
14 25 Canada Bruno Spengler
United States Connor de Phillippi
United States Colton Herta
GTLM BMW M8 GTE 1'56.116 9.242
15 24 Finland Jesse Krohn
United States John Edwards
Brazil Augusto Farfus
GTLM BMW M8 GTE 1'56.316 9.442
16 4 United Kingdom Oliver Gavin
United States Tommy Milner
Switzerland Marcel Fassler
GTLM Corvette C8.R 1'56.446 9.572
17 911 United Kingdom Nick Tandy
France Frédéric Makowiecki
New Zealand Earl Bamber
GTLM Porsche 911 RSR - 19 1'56.840 9.966
18 912 New Zealand Earl Bamber
Belgium Laurens Vanthoor
Switzerland Neel Jani
GTLM Porsche 911 RSR - 19 1'57.774 10.900
19 16 United States Ryan Hardwick
United States Patrick Long
Belgium Jan Heylen
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 2'00.844 13.970
20 30 United States Rob Ferriol
United States Andrew Davis
Germany Pierre Kaffer
GTD Audi R8 LMS GT3 2'01.546 14.672
21 14 United Kingdom Jack Hawksworth
United States Aaron Telitz
United States Kyle Kirkwood
GTD Lexus RC F GT3 2'01.605 14.731
22 11 United States Richard Heistand
Netherlands Steijn Schothorst
France Franck Perera
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 2'01.652 14.778
23 63 United States Cooper MacNeil
Italy Alessandro Balzan
United States Jeff Westphal
GTD Ferrari 488 GT3 2'01.802 14.928
24 12 United States Frankie Montecalvo
United States Townsend Bell
United States Michael de Quesada
GTD Lexus RC F GT3 2'01.839 14.965
25 96 United Kingdom Nick Yelloly
United States Robby Foley
United States Dillon Machavern
GTD BMW M6 GT3 2'02.210 15.336
26 86 Germany Mario Farnbacher
United States Matt McMurry
Japan Shinya Michimi
GTD Acura NSX GT3 2'02.286 15.412
27 48 United States Bryan Sellers
United States Madison Snow
United States Corey Lewis
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 2'02.435 15.561
28 74 United States Gar Robinson
United States Lawson Aschenbach
United States Marc Miller
GTD Mercedes-AMG GT3 2'02.689 15.815
29 23 United Kingdom Ian James
Canada Roman De Angelis
United Kingdom Darren Turner
GTD Aston Martin Vantage GT3 2'02.705 15.831
30 57 United States Trent Hindman
Canada Mikhail Goikhberg
United States Joey Hand
GTD Acura NSX GT3 2'03.153 16.279
31 44 United States Andy Lally
United States John Potter
United States Spencer Pumpelly
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 2'04.363 17.489

Related video

Sebring 12 Hours: Taylor’s Acura on top in night practice

Previous article

Sebring 12 Hours: Taylor’s Acura on top in night practice

Next article

Garcia happy Sebring isn’t “super stressful” title-decider

Garcia happy Sebring isn’t “super stressful” title-decider
Load comments

About this article

Series IMSA
Event Sebring 12 Hours
Author David Malsher-Lopez