27 Feb
Event finished
20 Mar
Event finished
08 May
Next event in
22 days
28 May
Next event in
42 days
Hidden Valley
19 Jun
Next event in
64 days
09 Jul
Next event in
84 days
20 Aug
Next event in
126 days
11 Sep
Next event in
148 days
07 Oct
Next event in
174 days
Surfers Paradise
03 Dec
Next event in
231 days

The Bend Supercars: Coulthard wins as title rivals clash

Fabian Coulthard won a thrilling opener at The Bend, as title rivals Scott McLaughlin and Jamie Whincup were involved in a sensational clash.

The Bend Supercars: Coulthard wins as title rivals clash

Coulthard triumphed by just four-tenths in what was remarkable 24-lap affair, the Kiwi getting the best of a three-way battle for the lead in the closing stages.

The three protagonists at the front were Coulthard, Shane van Gisbergen and Jack Le Brocq, the two Mustang drivers benefitting from the high tyre that hit the Triple Eight Holden hard.

Van Gisbergen had led the majority of the race, taking over at the front after McLaughlin and Whincup clashed on the first lap.

However tyre condition became a serious issue for van Gisbergen across the second stint, bringing Le Brocq and Coulthard into the game.

It was Le Brocq that looked the racier of the three, however two attempts at passing van Gisbergen led to him running wide and losing a position to Coulthard.

The second time Coulthard didn't give it back either, passing van Gisbergen at the start of the penultimate lap and then holding off Le Brocq to secure his first win in 41 starts.

"Forty one is a long time," said Coulthard.  

"To get a win is awesome. We bided our time there at the end. [The car] has been good, but we can always improve and make it better."

Van Gisbergen, meanwhile, went from leading across the line with two laps to go to finishing way down in ninth, the T8 driver swamped thanks to his lifeless Dunlops.

The big story of the race, however, was the clash between the title contenders.

McLaughlin and Whincup were the big winners from the start, the pair vaulting from second and fourth respectively on the grid to first and second by the exit of the first corner.

The seven-time champion then looked to quickly overhaul McLaughlin with a dive into Turn 17, some staunch defence from the leader combined with locked rear tyres from Whincup leading to contact that sent them both off the road.

Whincup had the better initial recovery, re-joining in 10th, but was swiftly whacked with a 15-second time penalty that meant the best he could manage was 19th.

McLaughlin, meanwhile, was 19th after the clash, but a rapid second stint helped him climb all the way to third by the finish.

He wasn't classified third, though, a post-race 15-second penalty for contact on Lee Holdsworth two laps from home dropping him to 15th.

He still leads the series, though, his gap now 151 points over Whincup.

McLaughlin's penalty elevated Bryce Fullwood onto a career-first podium, the Walkinshaw Andretti United rookie holding off Andre Heimgartner by four-tenths for third place.

Cam Waters and Rick Kelly weren't far behind in fifth and sixth, while Scott Pye and Anton De Pasquale were also able to get by van Gisbergen over the last two laps.

Mostert's race was similar to van Gisbergen, his pole yielding a disappointing 12th place. He had been in the fight for the podium until his Lap 7 stop, but dropped like a stone on his second tyre set.

The Bend Supercars - Race 1 results:

Cla # Driver Car Gap
1 12 New Zealand Fabian Coulthard Ford Mustang GT  
2 55 Australia Jack Le Brocq Ford Mustang GT 0.469
3 2 Australia Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB 4.286
4 7 New Zealand Andre Heimgartner Ford Mustang GT 4.660
5 6 Australia Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 5.163
6 15 Australia Rick Kelly Ford Mustang GT 5.829
7 20 Australia Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 6.184
8 99 Australia Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 7.475
9 97 New Zealand Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 10.662
10 44 Australia James Courtney Ford Mustang GT 12.882
11 8 Australia Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 13.188
12 25 Australia Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB 13.675
13 5 Australia Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 16.058
14 9 Australia David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 17.179
15 17 New Zealand Scott McLaughlin Ford Mustang GT 17.250
16 34 Australia Zane Goddard Holden Commodore ZB 20.095
17 18 Australia Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 21.247
18 19 Australia Alex Davison Holden Commodore ZB 21.469
19 88 Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 22.957
20 35 Australia Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore ZB 23.481
21 3 Australia Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 33.614
22 22 New Zealand Chris Pither Holden Commodore ZB 35.938
23 4 Australia Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 49.776
24 14 Australia Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 1'29.582
The Bend Supercars: Mostert takes first Holden pole

Previous article

The Bend Supercars: Mostert takes first Holden pole

Next article

Holdsworth says McLaughlin 'driving in desperation'

Holdsworth says McLaughlin 'driving in desperation'
Load comments

About this article

Series Supercars
Event The Bend
Drivers Fabian Coulthard
Teams Dick Johnson Racing
Author Andrew van Leeuwen
Can DJR still be a Supercars powerhouse after Penske? Prime

Can DJR still be a Supercars powerhouse after Penske?

Roger Penske's whirlwind Australian Supercars sojourn is over. After six seasons, three drivers' titles, three teams' championships and a Bathurst 1000 crown, The Captain has sold his controlling stake in Dick Johnson Racing back to the squad and walked away from the category.

Feb 26, 2021
Can Whincup be Triple Eight's ruthless leader? Prime

Can Whincup be Triple Eight's ruthless leader?

Supercars' most successful team of the past 15 years is set for a radical shakeup next year when Jamie Whincup retires from driving and takes over the reins at Triple Eight. But does he have what it takes to be the new Roland Dane?

Feb 8, 2021
How a lifetime Supercars deal broke down in one year Prime

How a lifetime Supercars deal broke down in one year

David Reynolds inked what was effectively a lifetime deal with Erebus in 2019 – only to walk out a year later. What went wrong?

Dec 18, 2020
Why Supercars now needs a new "human salt harvester" Prime

Why Supercars now needs a new "human salt harvester"

Scott McLaughlin has been a controversial figure in Supercars over the past few years but, as he heads off to a fresh challenge in IndyCar, the Australian tin-top series needs to find someone else to fill his drama-filled boots as the category enters a new era...

Nov 3, 2020
Why 2020 isn't McLaughlin's greatest title Prime

Why 2020 isn't McLaughlin's greatest title

Scott McLaughlin was quick to describe his third Supercars title as his best yet. But even though it didn't match the dramatic backstory of his 2018 triumph, there's a good reason for him wanting to control the narrative this time around.

Oct 2, 2020
Why a Bathurst finale is risky business for Supercars Prime

Why a Bathurst finale is risky business for Supercars

The Bathurst Grand Final may provide Supercars its greatest spectacle yet – but there's a risk it will force the series to face a hard truth.

Sep 4, 2020
Why Scott McLaughlin must become an IndyCar driver Prime

Why Scott McLaughlin must become an IndyCar driver

Scott McLaughlin, two-time and current Supercars champion, should have been making his NTT IndyCar Series debut for Team Penske at the GP of Indianapolis, but the Covid-19 pandemic forced a rescheduling that has put the brakes on his career switch. But David Malsher-Lopez explains why the New Zealander deserves this opportunity as soon as possible.

Jul 4, 2020
Tickford's 10-year wait for James Courtney Prime

Tickford's 10-year wait for James Courtney

When the Supercars season resumes James Courtney will be a Tickford Racing driver – but it's not the first time the star driver has flirted with the famous Ford squad.

May 19, 2020