MotoGP will not return to Indianapolis in 2016

MotoGP will not return to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway next season, the circuit bosses announced on Friday.

The legendary circuit has hosted a MotoGP race since the 2008 season, and last year won the award for best grand prix of the year.

The cancellation of next year's race has been a mutual decision by the IMS and MotoGP rights holder Dorna.

The IMS event was the only MotoGP race in the United States after Laguna Seca was dropped following the 2013 season.

"This caused both financial and logistical challenges that no longer made the event viable for the foreseeable future," said the IMS in a statement.

"Ultimately, removing the Indianapolis race became key to Dorna's efforts to expand both the number of events it hosts and the geographic diversity of its schedule.

Fans who renewed tickets for 2016 following the 2015 race will receive full reimbursements, the IMS said.

"This outcome reflects the best interests of both the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Dorna Sports," said J. Douglas Boles, president of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

"We are proud of our efforts to increase attendance in recent years and successfully host a truly international sporting and cultural event. We're also thankful to Dorna Sports for its strong support and partnership since 2008.

"However, the timing is right to pursue other opportunities that drive greater revenue for both the Speedway and our Central Indiana economy."

The US will still have one MotoGP race at Austin next season.

Austria in

Dorna has also announced that Austria will join the MotoGP calendar next year, with a race at the Red Bull Ring in August. 

The 2016 season will kick off in Qatar in March and will finish in Valencia in November.

Round Date Location Circuit
1 20/03 Qatar Losail International Circuit
2 03/04 Argentina Termas de Río Hondo
3 10/04 United States Circuit Of The Americas
4 24/04 Spain Jerez de la Frontera
5 08/05 France Le Mans
6 22/05 Italy Mugello
7 05/06 Catalunya Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya
8 26/06 Netherlands TT Assen
9 10/07 Germany Sachsenring
10 17/07 Great Britain Silverstone
11 14/08 Austria Red Bull Ring
12 21/08 Czech Republic Brno
13 11/09 San Marino Misano
14 25/09 Aragon MotorLand Aragon
15 09/10 Malaysia Sepang International Circuit
16 16/10 Japan Twin Ring Motegi
17 23/10 Australia Phillip Island
18 06/11 Valencia Comunitat Valenciana - Ricardo Tormo


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series MotoGP
Article type Breaking news