Abu Dhabi GP3: Mazepin wins finale after Correa penalty

Abu Dhabi GP3: Mazepin wins finale after Correa penalty
Nov 25, 2018, 8:57 AM

Nikita Mazepin won the GP3 season finale in Abu Dhabi as Juan Manuel Correa's victory bid ended with a penalty despite him leading most of the race.

Correa started the race from reverse-grid pole and led nearly the whole race, but was given a penalty for failing to respect the Virtual Safety Car time during an early caution phase and then dropped behind the Russian on the final lap.

Two separate crashes on the opening lap caused the VSC, including one that involved all three podium finishers of Race 1.

Newly-crowned champion Anthoine Hubert was side-by-side with Leonardo Pulcini and David Beckmann on the on Turn 7-8 long straight and hit Pulcini's rear left tyre, spinning the Italian into Beckmann.

Only Pulcini could carry on after the collision, and then there was another incident at Turn 11 as Pedro Piquet got spun around by Richard Verschoor and Jannes Fittje was unable to avoid the Brazilian and also retired.

After the restart, Correa had to defend from Alesi, Mazepin and Hughes, the former even stealing the lead once at Turn 8 only to drop back at Turn 11.

However both Correa and Alesi were soon out of contention as they were given five-second penalties.

Alesi dropped down the order but Correa kept Mazepin at bay until the final lap when the Russian finally made the move to claim victory on the road.

Hughes finished third but inherited second from Simo Laaksonen, the Finn passing Callum Ilott to claim his first and last podium in GP3.

Correa missed out on fifth by 0.1s with Ryan Tveter claiming the position as Richard Verschoor and Tatiana Calderon claimed the final two points-scoring places.

Joey Mawson and the penalised Alesi completed the top 10.

Race results

Cla Driver Team Laps Time
1 Russian Federation Nikita Mazepin  France ART Grand Prix 14  
2 United Kingdom Jake Hughes  France ART Grand Prix 14 1.3
3 Finland Simo Laaksonen  Spain Campos Racing 14 3.1
4 United Kingdom Callum Ilott  France ART Grand Prix 14 3.7
5 United States Ryan Tveter  Italy Trident 14 5.6
6 United States Juan Manuel Correa  Switzerland Jenzer Motorsport 14 5.7
7 Richard Verschoor  MP Motorsport 14 6.1
8 Colombia Tatiana Calderon  Switzerland Jenzer Motorsport 14 6.5
9 Australia Joey Mawson  United Kingdom Arden International 14 7.9
10 France Giuliano Alesi  Italy Trident 14 9.7
11 Canada Devlin DeFrancesco  MP Motorsport 14 10.7
12 Italy Leonardo Pulcini  Spain Campos Racing 14 12.1
13 Jehan Daruvala  MP Motorsport 14 14.7
14 France Gabriel Aubry  United Kingdom Arden International 14 14.9
15 Sacha Fenestraz  United Kingdom Arden International 14 18.0
16 Mexico Diego Menchaca  Spain Campos Racing 14 18.8
  David Beckmann  Italy Trident   14 laps
  France Anthoine Hubert  France ART Grand Prix   14 laps
  Brazil Pedro Piquet  Italy Trident   14 laps
  Germany Jannes Fittje       
Next article
Abu Dhabi GP3: Hubert crowned champion as Pulcini wins

Previous article

Abu Dhabi GP3: Hubert crowned champion as Pulcini wins

Next article

Mazepin earns F2 promotion with ART

Mazepin earns F2 promotion with ART
Load comments

About this article

Series FIA F3
Event Abu Dhabi
Sub-event Sunday race
Drivers Nikita Mazepin
Teams ART Grand Prix
Author David Gruz
Be first to get
breaking news