Darwin Supercars: McLaughlin completes clean sweep

Darwin Supercars: McLaughlin completes clean sweep

Scott McLaughlin took a third dominant win to complete a Darwin Supercars clean sweep.

The DJR Team Penske star effectively won the race at the start, using the grippier side of the front row to out-drag pole-sitter Shane van Gisbergen down to the first corner.

Once in front McLaughlin never looked back, flawlessly executing a standard strategy with a Lap 8 stop to make it three wins from three races, his margin in the final heat a whopping 13.8s.

Even better for McLaughlin was that his closest title rival Jamie Whincup was just seventh, the points gap between the two now 177.

"I love it [in Darwin]. I love the people, I love the track. And I love it when my car is like that. That's hands-down the best car I've every driven. All weekend it was so solid."

The battle for the minor placings was significantly closer, with as many as five cars in contention for the podium for much of the race.

Nick Percat effectively ran second the entire way, jumping van Gisbergen at the start. He couldn't quite shake the likes of Scott Pye and, for a while, van Gisbergen, but ultimately had enough to take a well-earned podium.

Pye finished third for the second time today, having withstood significant pressure from van Gisbergen when the Triple Eight driver – who stopped later in the race – had better tyre quality.

Pye didn't just help himself by holding off van Gisbergen, he also helped his teammate Mark Winterbottom who went deep into the race before making his stop. With the best rubber in the field for the run home, Winterbottom was able to run down Chaz Mostert and van Gisbergen to nab fourth place.

That did include a bit of contact to get by van Gisbergen, though, Winterbottom hinting after the race that he may have to face the stewards.

Van Gisbergen and Mostert finished fifth and sixth ahead of Whincup.

Darwin Supersprint - race results:

Cla # Driver Car Time
1 17 New Zealand Scott McLaughlin Ford Mustang GT  
2 8 Australia Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 13.835
3 20 Australia Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 14.817
4 18 Australia Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 16.423
5 97 New Zealand Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 18.367
6 25 Australia Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB 19.622
7 88 Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 19.966
8 7 New Zealand Andre Heimgartner Ford Mustang GT 20.299
9 99 Australia Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 20.847
10 9 Australia David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 24.888
11 12 New Zealand Fabian Coulthard Ford Mustang GT 27.703
12 5 Australia Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 28.070
13 55 Australia Jack Le Brocq Ford Mustang GT 28.459
14 44 Australia James Courtney Ford Mustang GT 30.013
15 14 Australia Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 33.845
16 35 Australia Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore ZB 34.552
17 2 Australia Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB 36.054
18 3 Australia Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 39.415
19 22 New Zealand Chris Pither Holden Commodore ZB 43.344
20 19 Australia Alex Davison Holden Commodore ZB 44.253
21 34 Australia Zane Goddard Holden Commodore ZB 45.163
22 15 Australia Rick Kelly Ford Mustang GT 52.838
23 4 Australia Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 54.164
  6 Australia Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT  
Darwin Supercars: McLaughlin takes 50th career win

Previous article

Darwin Supercars: McLaughlin takes 50th career win

Next article

2020 Supercars Darwin Supersprint race results

2020 Supercars Darwin Supersprint race results
Load comments

About this article

Series Supercars
Event Hidden Valley II
Drivers Scott McLaughlin
Teams DJR Team Penske
Author Andrew van Leeuwen