Brazilian V8 Stock Cars: Mauricio and Salas on pole for the season-opener

Top-3 split by only 0s066; Barrichello/Farfus start second, Camilo/Di Grassi third

Curitiba had a very competitive qualifying session this Saturday afternoon to set the starting grid for the All Star Race, the Brazilian V8 Stock Cars season-opener. Last edition’s winner, Eurofarma-RC Ricardo Maurício brought the BrTCC ace Guilherme Salas, and the duo set the fastest average lap to take pole position.

Only 0s014 behind, Rubens Barrichello and Augusto Farfus were second. Maurício and Salas average was 1min19s211 (1min19s022 for Ricardo and 1min19s400 for Guilherme), against 1min19s287 from the Medley-Full Time duo. "I know I wrote my name as the last pole-sitter of this very track in Stock Cars, but it’s a shame this venue will not be used to motorsports anymore", Mauricio lamented. The Curitiba circuit was sold and will be officially closed in July.

In good shape since the first sessions of the weekend, Thiago Camilo and Lucas di Grassi start third, 0s066 behind the leaders, while Max Wilson and Vitor Meira had set the exact same laptime each with 1min19s288. "So you don’t need to do the math", joked the 2010 champion Wilson, former V8 Supercars racer and F1 test driver.

Reignin champion Marcos Gomes starts fifth with his mate Antonio Pizzonia, right in front the 2015 All Star Race podium-finishers Allam Khodair and Portugal’s Antonio Félix da Costa. Laurens Vanthoor, driving with Ricardo Zonta, starts in ninth place, two positions ahead his compatriot Maxime Martin, invited by Valdeno Brito.

Brito, in his group, had a coming together with Átila Abreu after the Shell driver had an off and came back to the track right in front of him during his flying lap. The TMG racer ran into his former team pits to yell at Abreu.

Átila, though, was the most affected by the situation. Without getting a clean lap, neither a P10 by Nelson Piquet Jr in his group was enough to make it up on the time sheet. The Shell duo starts 32nd and last.

The All Star Race opens the Brazilian V8 Stock Cars 2016 season this Sunday at 12:10 (local time). The race will be 65 laps long with a mandatory pit stop.

Starting Grid*

Posição Dupla
1 Ricardo Mauricio / Guilherme Salas
2 Rubens Barrichello/Augusto Farfus
3 Thiago Camilo / Lucas di Grassi
4 Max Wilson / Vitor Meira
5 Marcos Gomes / Antonio Pizzonia
6 Allam Khodair / Antonio Felix da Costa
7 Daniel Serra / Danilo Dirani
8 Diego Nunes / Dennis Dirani
9 Ricardo Zonta / Laurens Vanthoor
10 Felipe Fraga / Rodrigo Sperafico
11 Valdeno Brito / Maxime Martin
12 Cacá Bueno / Ricardo Sperafico
13 Bia Figueiredo / Beto Monteiro
14 Bia Figueiredo / Beto Monteiro
15 Lucas Foresti / Luiz Razia
16 Galid Osman / Damián Fineschi
17 Guga Lima / Tuka Rocha
18 Vitor Genz / David Muffato
19 Denis Navarro / Felipe Maluhy
20 Rafael Suzuki / Franco Vivian
21 Thiago Marques / Cesar Ramos
22 Gabriel Casagrande / Márcio Campos
23 Júlio Campos / Alan Hellmeister
24 Felipe Guimarães / Duda Pamplona
25 Popó Bueno / Betinho Gresse
26 Felipe Lapenna / Marco Cozzi
27 Alceu Feldmann / Tarso Marques
28 Fabio Carbone / Vicente Orige
29 Raphael Abbate / Nicolas Costa
30 Luciano Burti / Felipe Giaffone
31 Beto Cavaleiro / Sergio Jimenez
32 Átila Abreu / Nelsinho Piquet

*Unofficial Results


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock Car Brasil
Event Curitiba
Sub-event Saturday
Track Autodromo Internacional de Curitiba
Article type Qualifying report