Chip Ganassi celebrates 25 years in racing

Chip Ganassi Racing ready for the 2014 year, which will be the 25th year of the organization.

Chip Ganassi Racing Teams (CGRT) will celebrate its 25th year with the start of the 2014 season. CGRT, which began as Target Chip Ganassi Racing in 1990, is recognized as one of the most successful teams in the motorsports industry. Beginning with their first win in 1994 at Surfers Paradise, Australia, the organization has compiled historic victories in some of the most iconic races around the globe. CGRT has claimed five wins in the Rolex 24 At Daytona, four Indianapolis 500s, a Daytona 500 and a Brickyard 400 victory. In total CGRT has claimed 17 series championships and more than 150 race victories.

Currently CGRT fields seven cars in three different series that feature an all-star cast of international talent. The teams include four cars in the IndyCar Series, two cars in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, and one Prototype in the IMSA TUDOR United SportsCar Championship. The organizations drivers are Scott Dixon (New Zealand), Tony Kanaan (Brazil), Charlie Kimball (USA), Ryan Briscoe (Australia) – IndyCar, Jamie McMurray (USA), Kyle Larson (USA) – NASCAR, Scott Pruett (USA), Memo Rojas (Mexico) – IMSA

Charlie Kimball, Ryan Briscoe, Tony Kanaan, Scott Dixon
Charlie Kimball, Ryan Briscoe, Tony Kanaan, Scott Dixon

Photo by: Chris Jones

  • 25 Year Highlights and Notes of Interest:*

First Win – Michael Andretti, March 20, 1994 (Surfers Paradise, Australia)

First NASCAR win – Sterling Marlin, Aug. 19, 2001 – (Michigan International Speedway)

First GRAND-AM win – Scott Pruett, Max Papis, May 23, 2004 – (Circuit Mont-Tremblant, Quebec Canada)

Indianapolis 500 wins (2000, 2008, 2010, 2012)

Rolex 24 At Daytona wins (2006, 2007, 2008, 2011, 2013)

Championships (CART 1996, 1997,1998,1999), (INDYCAR - 2003, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2013), (GRAND-AM – 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013)

Daytona 500 – 2010

Brickyard 400 – 2010

100th win – July 7, 2013

58 drivers have competed for Chip Ganassi as a car owner

First drivers (Eddie Cheever – CART 1990, Sterling Marlin, Jason Leffler – NASCAR 2001, Scott Pruett, Max Papis – GRAND-AM 2004)

In 2014 CGRT will also celebrate 25 seasons with Target as a partner to the organization.

Chip Ganassi Racing

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar , NASCAR Cup , IMSA
Drivers Jason Leffler , Sterling Marlin , Eddie Cheever , Michael Andretti , Max Papis , Scott Dixon , Tony Kanaan , Scott Pruett , Jamie McMurray , Memo Rojas , Ryan Briscoe , Charlie Kimball , Chip Ganassi , Chris Jones , Kyle Larson
Teams Chip Ganassi Racing
Article type Breaking news
Tags 25 year, anniversary, chip ganassi racing, dixon, indy 500, kana an, kimballs, larson, mcmurray, michael andretti, pruett, racing, rojas