Amlin Aguri Formula E Team adds Antonio Felix da Costa to lineup

Joins driver Katherine Legge

Amlin Aguri has today announced that Portuguese driver Antonio Felix da Costa will join the team for its inaugural FIA Formula E Championship season.

Felix da Costa will participate in Thursday’s first public test for the squad before linking up on Friday with the Infiniti Red Bull Racing Formula 1 Team where he will continue as the team’s reserve driver at the British Grand Prix this weekend.

The 22-year-old is no stranger to the Spark-Renault SRT_01E Formula E car having driven for the outfit during a shakedown held in early June at the Donington Park Racing Circuit.

Antonio Felix da Costa said: “I am delighted to compete in the Formula E inaugural season and I am proud to have been chosen by Amlin Aguri. I am thrilled by what I believe is the championship of the future. With Formula E we see history being made and I’m excited to be right at the heart of this new project. I have no doubt we’ll see this championship drive real innovation and advances in technology. What’s special about our team is the expertise from Amlin. They have core skills in analysing complex data and we’ll be using these skills to produce strategies that will help drivers like me win these races. That’s really important for this new format where the circuits are on city streets and the technology means new team skills are needed. I am confident Amlin Aguri will be out there at the front right from the start.”

Mark Preston, Team Principal said: “It’s a pleasure for me to welcome Antonio into the new setup at Amlin Aguri. Antonio has proven he’s prodigiously quick at all levels of motorsport, from testing in F1 to winning races in Formula 3. I’m confident the drivers we are assembling will make Team Amlin Aguri a serious podium threat and a force to be reckoned with.”

Felix da Costa's breakout season came in 2012 when he won the prestigious Macau Formula 3 Grand Prix from pole position. He also finished fourth overall in World Series by Renault after winning four races out of the six he entered in the nine round series.

He now becomes the second driver to join Amlin Aguri, following the arrival of Katherine Legge, in the all-electric series which starts in Beijing on September 13 and races around the iconic ‘Bird’s Nest’ Olympic stadium.

For more information on Formula E visit

FIA Formula E Championship – Confirmed drivers (to date):

Amlin Aguri Formula E Team: Antonio Felix da Costa Katherine Legge

Andretti Autosport Formula E Team: Franck Montagny TBC

Audi Sport Abt Formula E Team: Lucas di Grassi Daniel Abt

China Racing Formula E Team: TBC TBC

Dragon Racing Formula E Team: Mike Conway TBC

e.dams-Renault Formula E Team: Sebastien Buemi Nicolas Prost

Mahindra Racing Formula E Team: Bruno Senna Karun Chandhok

Trulli Formula E Team: Jarno Trulli Michela Cerruti

Venturi Formula E Team: Nick Heidfeld Stephane Sarrazin

Virgin Racing Formula E Team: Sam Bird Jaime Alguersuari

Amlin Aguri

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula E
Drivers Jarno Trulli , Nick Heidfeld , Franck Montagny , Stéphane Sarrazin , Katherine Legge , Karun Chandhok , Mike Conway , Lucas di Grassi , Bruno Senna , Sam Bird , Sébastien Buemi , Nicolas Prost , Jaime Alguersuari , Antonio Felix da Costa , Michela Cerruti , Daniel Abt
Teams Red Bull Racing , Andretti Autosport , Dragon Racing , DAMS , NEXTEV TCR Formula E Team , Virgin Racing , Trulli , Mahindra Racing , Team Aguri
Article type Breaking news
Tags amlin aguri, formula e, kathernine legge