Formula 1
31 Jul
Event finished
24 Jul
Event finished
Formula E
05 Aug
Race in
01 Hours
51 Minutes
07 Seconds
Berlin ePrix II
06 Aug
FP1 in
18 Hours
18 Minutes
07 Seconds
02 Aug
Event finished
08 Aug
Race 1 in
3 days
17 Jul
Event finished
21 Aug
Next event in
15 days
19 Nov
Next event in
105 days
12 Jul
Event finished
08 Aug
Practice 1 in
2 days

Brabec wins Dakar 2020 as Honda ends KTM's streak

Jan 17, 2020, 6:43 AM

Ricky Brabec has taken Honda's first Dakar Rally title since 1989, ending KTM's streak of 18 consecutive wins in the bike category.

Brabec, who is in his fifth Dakar and had been leading when he retired with an engine failure last year, has taken the overall lead with a win in Stage 3 and never surrendered it, placing in the top five in all but one of the remaining stages.

The one exception was the penultimate day when Pablo Quintanilla was able to close the gap from 25 to 13 minutes ahead of the shortened last stage.

Though he retained a comfortable lead still, Brabec did not ease up on the final day as he fought for the stage victory against teammate Jose Ignacio Cornejo.

He ultimately lost out to his fellow Honda rider and settled for second on the day by 53 seconds, which was enough to clinch the title by 16m26s.

Husqvarna rider Quintanilla secured his best Dakar result yet in second as he took a fourth top-four result in six years.

Toby Price was KTM's top representative in third, the Australian maintaining his superb record of being a top-three rider every year he finished the event.

Price missed out on the top spot by 24m06s, followed by Cornejo and teammate Matthias Walkner.

Joan Barreda (Honda) took seventh, a 15-minute penalty for a penultimate-day engine change ultimately costing him one position to KTM's Luciano Benavides.

Franco Caimi was the top Yamaha in eighth, followed by Husqvarna duo Skyler Howes and Andrew Short, the pair making it three American riders in the top 10.

Final Standings (Bikes, Top 10):

Pos. Rider Bike Time/Gap

United States Ricky Brabec

Honda 40h02m36s

Chile Pablo Quintanilla

Husqvarna 16m26s

Australia Toby Price

KTM 24m06s

Chile Jose Ignacio Cornejo

Honda 31m43s

Austria Matthias Walkner

KTM 35m00s

Argentina Luciano Benavides

KTM 37m34s

Spain Joan Barreda

Honda 50m57s

Argentina Franco Caimi

Yamaha 1hr42m35s

United States Skyler Howes

Husqvarna 2hr04m01s
10 United States Andrew Short Husqvarna 2hr10m40s
Al-Attiyah, Peterhansel concede defeat to Sainz

Previous article

Al-Attiyah, Peterhansel concede defeat to Sainz

Next article

Casale seals dominant third Dakar quad title

Casale seals dominant third Dakar quad title
Load comments

About this article

Series Dakar
Event Dakar
Sub-event Stage 12: Haradh - Qiddiya
Drivers Ricky Brabec
Teams Monster Energy Honda Team
Author David Gruz