12 Nov
Event finished

Audi keeps unchanged line-ups for WEC, DTM

Audi keeps unchanged line-ups for WEC, DTM

Audi has confirmed it will retain its factory drivers in the World Endurance Championship and the DTM for 2016.

2016 Audi R18 e-tron quattro
#7 Audi Sport Team Joest Audi R18 e-tron quattro: Marcel Fässler, Andre Lotterer, Benoit Tréluyer
Jamie Green, Audi Sport Team Rosberg Audi RS 5 DTM
Mattias Ekström, Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline, Audi A5 DTM
#19 Porsche Team Porsche 919 Hybrid: Nico Hulkenberg, Nick Tandy, Earl Bamber
#9 Audi Sport Team Joest Audi R18 e-tron quattro: René Rast, Filipe Albuquerque, Marco Bonanomi

The German manufacturer is represented by the #7 and the #8 machines in WEC and the line-ups for both will stay unchanged.

Andre Lotterer, Benoit Treluyer and Marcel Fassler - 2012 FIA WEC champions and three-time Le Mans 24 Hours winners - will pilot the #7 Audi, while 2013 WEC champion Loic Duval will be once more joined by Lucas di Grassi and Oliver Jarvis in the #8 car.

Lotterer, Treluyer and Fassler had missed out on the 2015 drivers' title by five points, with Duval/di Grassi/Jarvis coming in joint fourth place.

Despite a 2015 DTM season that saw Audi miss out on all three of the category's major titles, all eight drivers have been retained for 2016.

Series runner-up Jamie Green will join Adrien Tambay at Team Rosberg, with 2013 champion Mike Rockenfeller and Timo Scheider once more making up Team Phoenix.

Team Abt will be made up by Mattias Ekstrom, Miguel Molina, Nico Muller and Edoardo Mortara.

The announcement leaves no place in the team for Antonio Giovinazzi, who substituted for Scheider at Moscow.

Two cars for Le Mans

Both Audi and Porsche are to scale down to a two-car LMP1 entry for the 2016 24 Hours of Le Mans, the manufacturers having each fielded three cars in 2015.

For Porsche, this means the #19 will not defend the title and casts serious doubt over the participation of Earl Bamber and Nick Tandy - with Nico Hulkenberg having already been seemingly ruled out due to a clash with the Formula 1 Baku race.

On Audi's end, Marco Bonanomi, Rene Rast and Filipe Albuquerque, who piloted the #9 entry, are also left out.

Exclusive: Priaulx to join Ford's WEC squad

Previous article

Exclusive: Priaulx to join Ford's WEC squad

Next article

Audi unveils 2016 WEC challenger

Audi unveils 2016 WEC challenger
Load comments

About this article

Series WEC
Teams Team Joest
Author Valentin Khorounzhiy