MotoGP entry list confirms AB Motoracing exit

MotoGP entry list confirms AB Motoracing exit
Valentin Khorounzhiy
By: Valentin Khorounzhiy
Nov 7, 2015, 6:23 PM

Karel Abraham and family-run team AB Motoracing will not be on the MotoGP grid in 2016, the series' official list has confirmed.

Karel Abraham, Cardion AB Motoracing
Karel Abraham, Cardion AB Motoracing
Alex de Angelis, Octo Ioda Racing Project
Alex de Angelis

The Czech team has run in the premier class of motorcycle grand prix racing since 2011, but has not managed to surpass its first-year haul of 64 points in any subsequent season.

Abraham's exit comes on the heels of an injury-plagued 2015 campaign, which saw him fail to score points in the World Championship for the first time.

The AB squad has been linked with a takeover of Aprilia's factory World Superbikes squad, while Abraham has also been in talks with Shaun Muir Racing, which is set to graduate from British Superbikes to WSBK in 2016.

De Angelis set for IodaRacing return

The released entry list also unveils that Alex de Angelis is set to continue with IodaRacing in 2016.

De Angelis spoke of considering a World Superbikes switch earlier in the campaign before being ruled out of the season's run-in by a horror crash at Motegi.

Despite the severity of his injuries, the San Marino rider is now expected to make a full recovery before the 2016 season and is targeting to be riding again by February.

Provisional entry list

# Rider Team Bike
4 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Racing Team Ducati
6 Stefan Bradl Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia
8 Hector Barbera Avintia Racing Ducati
9 Danilo Petrucci Octo Pramac Racing Ducati
15 Alex de Angelis IodaRacing Project ART
19 Alvaro Bautista Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia
25 Maverick Vinales Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki
26 Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda Team Honda
29 Andrea Iannone Ducati Racing Team Ducati
35 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda Honda
38 Bradley Smith Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha
41 Aleix Espargaro Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki
43 Jack Miller Marc VDS Racing Team Honda
44 Pol Espargaro Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha
45 Scott Redding Octo Pramac Racing Ducati
46 Valentino Rossi Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha
50 Eugene Laverty Aspar MotoGP Team Ducati
53 Tito Rabat Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS Honda
68 Yonny Hernandez Aspar MotoGP Team Ducati
76 Loris Baz Avintia Racing Ducati
93 Marc Marquez Repsol Honda Team Honda
99 Jorge Lorenzo Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha
Next article
Load comments