BMW reveals GTE driver roster for WEC and IMSA

BMW has revealed its drivers for its upcoming assault on the GTE Pro division of the FIA World Endurance Championship, as well as for the 2018 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season.

Nicky Catsburg, Augusto Farfus, Antonio Felix da Costa and Martin Tomczyk have been named as full-season drivers for the two MTEK-run M8 GTEs that will be entered in the 2018/19 WEC 'superseason'.

Supporting the quartet for the two runnings of the Le Mans 24 Hours and the 1500-mile Sebring race in March 2019 will be Tom Blomqvist, Philipp Eng and Alexander Sims.

Eng is one of two new additions to the BMW DTM line-up for 2018, effectively replacing Blomqvist.

In IMSA, Audi convert Connor de Philippi replaces BMW stalwart Bill Auberlen as full-time driver in one of the two Rahal Letterman Lanigan-run M8s in the GTLM class, joining compatriot John Edwards.

Sims will partner Jesse Krohn, who raced for customer squad Turner Motorsport in the GTD division this season, in the second GTLM entry.

Auberlen will remain on board for IMSA's Tequila Patron North American Endurance Cup races, with Farfus, Eng and Catsburg forming the full roster for the US-based series.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WEC , IMSA
Teams BMW Team MTEK , Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
Article type Breaking news