BMW promotes Eng, Eriksson to 2018 DTM seats

BMW has revealed a revised driver line-up for the 2018 DTM season, with rookies Philipp Eng and Joel Eriksson joining in place of Maxime Martin and Tom Blomqvist.

Eng, 27, and Eriksson, 19, step up from the ranks of the BMW junior squad, having both impressed the German manufacturer during October's young driver test at the Lausitzring.

Eriksson was tipped for a move to DTM after a strong season in European Formula 3 that yielded runner-up in the points behind Lando Norris, while Eng switches to the tin-top series after two years on BMW's GT3 roster.

The pair replace Martin, who has decided to part ways with BMW after four seasons in the DTM, and Blomqvist, who will remain linked to the marque via its Formula E and GTE programmes.

Eng and Eriksson both join Team RBM along with Bruno Spengler, while Team RMG will continue to field Marco Wittmann, Timo Glock and Augusto Farfus.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series DTM
Drivers Philipp Eng , Joel Eriksson
Teams BMW Team RMG , BMW Team RBM
Article type Breaking news