Lotterer leads first Super Formula test day as Gasly impresses

Team TOM'S driver Andre Lotterer was quickest on the first day of 2017 Super Formula pre-season testing at Suzuka, as Red Bull junior Pierre Gasly led the Honda contingent.

Lotterer leads first Super Formula test day as Gasly impresses
Hiroaki Ishiura, Cerumo Inging
Kazuki Nakajima, Team Tom's
Pierre Gasly, Team Mugen
Yuhi Sekiguchi, Team Impul
Pierre Gasly, Team Mugen
Yuji Kunimoto, Cerumo Inging
Listen to this article

Porsche WEC driver Lotterer was the only one to dip below the 1m36s barrier with a time of 1m35.657s in the afternoon session, beating teammate Kazuki Nakajima by 0.414s.

The latter was one of many drivers to improve on their laptimes in the dying moments of the two-hour afternoon session.

Inging's Hiroaki Ishiura completed a Toyota 1-2-3, with reigning GP2 champion Gasly 0.006s off in fourth place.

The Red Bull junior, who is making his debut in the Japanese premier single-seater championship, was the highest-placed of the Honda drivers

Yuhi Sekiguchi (Impul), who had topped the morning session, was fifth overall, ahead of reigning champion Yuji Kunimoto (Inging).

Toyota WEC driver Kamui Kobayashi kicked off his collaboration with KCMG, having left Team LeMans in the off-season, in seventh.

The Dandelion duo of Takuya Izawa and Tomoki Nojiri were eighth and ninth respectively, as Real Racing’s Koudai Tsukakoshi rounded out the Top 10.

Newcomers Jann Mardenborough (Impul), Nick Cassidy (Kondo Racing) and Felix Rosenqvist (Team LeMans) were 11th, 13th and 16th respectively.

Former Formula 1 driver Narain Karthikeyan, who switched from Team LeMans Toyota to Honda's Nakajima Racing outfit for this year, was 12th in the order.

Day 1 times:

1  Andre Lotterer Team TOM'S Toyota 1'37.720 1'35.657
2  Kazuki Nakajima Team TOM'S Toyota 1'37.123 1'36.071
3  Hiroaki Ishiura Inging Toyota 1'37.438 1'36.184
4  Pierre Gasly Team Mugen Honda 1'37.740 1'36.190
5  Yuhi Sekiguchi Team Impul Toyota 1'36.549 1'36.325
6  Yuji Kunimoto Inging Toyota 1'36.821 1'36.616
7  Kamui Kobayashi KCMG Toyota 1'38.230 1'36.713
8  Takuya Izawa Team Dandelion Honda 1'37.794 1'36.733
9  Tomoki Nojiri Team Dandelion Honda 1'38.247 1'36.810
10  Koudai Tsukakoshi Real Racing Honda 1'39.876 1'36.818
11  Jann Mardenborough Team Impul Toyota 1'39.865 1'36.936
12  Narain Karthikeyan Nakajima Racing Honda 1'37.624 1'37.427
13  Nick Cassidy Kondo Racing Toyota 1'37.449 1'37.692
14  Daisuke Nakajima Nakajima Racing Honda 1'37.553 1'38.717
15  Naoki Yamamoto Team Mugen Honda 1'37.647 1'38.594
16  Felix Rosenqvist Team LeMans Toyota 1'38.449 1'37.966
17  Kazuya Oshima Team LeMans Toyota 1'38.491 -
18  Takashi Kogure B-Max Honda 1'38.890 1'38.503
Rosenqvist scores LeMans Super Formula seat
Previous article

Rosenqvist scores LeMans Super Formula seat

Next article

Lotterer sweeps Super Formula test, Gasly shines again

Lotterer sweeps Super Formula test, Gasly shines again
Load comments