Formula 1
31 Jul
Event finished
24 Jul
Event finished
Formula E
05 Aug
Race in
02 Hours
58 Minutes
25 Seconds
Berlin ePrix II
06 Aug
FP1 in
19 Hours
25 Minutes
25 Seconds
02 Aug
Event finished
08 Aug
Race 1 in
3 days
17 Jul
Event finished
21 Aug
Next event in
15 days
19 Nov
Next event in
105 days
12 Jul
Event finished
08 Aug
Practice 1 in
2 days

W Series announces initial 2020 calendar

W Series announces initial 2020 calendar
Oct 31, 2019, 1:19 PM

The W Series has revealed an initial six-round DTM-supporting 2020 calendar, which will include visits to the new Igora Drive circuit in Russia and Anderstorp.

The series has not yet finalised its full second-season calendar, but the first three rounds on its initial list will all take place on circuits neither the DTM or W Series have raced at previously. 

Igora Drive, the new 2.539-mile circuit outside St Petersburg that will host the third round of the DTM season, is the first venue on the schedule and its May 29-30 weekend will start a run of four rounds each separated by a fortnight.

Sometime Swedish Grand Prix host venue Anderstorp and 2020 DTM addition Monza will stage rounds in June, before the W Series makes its first and only visit to Germany of the year at the Norisring in July.

A break of six weeks is then currently scheduled before last year’s season finale venue Brands Hatch hosts a round on the August 22-23 weekend, while Assen is the final venue named on the initial calendar.

“We at W Series are thrilled to announce two exciting and important new countries in which W Series will race in 2020: Russia and Sweden," said W Series CEO Catherine Bond Muir. “We’ll announce the complete 2020 W Series championship calendar as and when we’ve finalised it.”

Inaugural champion Jamie Chadwick was one of the 18 drivers initially announced as contesting the 2020 season, though W Series racing director Dave Ryan said earlier this week that next year’s champion will not be allowed to defend her crown.

Read Also:

Initial 2020 calendar:

Venue Date
St Petersburg, Russia May 29th-30th
Anderstorp, Sweden June 12th-13th
Monza, Italy June 26th-27th
Norisring, Germany July 10th-11th
Brands Hatch, UK August 22nd-23rd
Assen, Netherlands September 4th-5th
W Series champion won't be allowed back in 2021

Previous article

W Series champion won't be allowed back in 2021

Next article

Chadwick aims to add Japan programme to W Series

Chadwick aims to add Japan programme to W Series
Load comments

About this article

Series W Series
Author Jack Cozens