Twenty drivers eligible for 2018 Clash at Daytona


Twenty drivers are eligible to compete in the 2018 Advance Auto Parts Clash at Daytona International Speedway, scheduled to run as a doubleheader with qualifying for the Daytona 500.

The 75-lap, two-segment race will be run at 3 p.m. ET on Sunday, Feb. 11 capping a day which will including qualifying for the 2018 Daytona 500.

The race will again feature drivers who won poles during the 2017 season, former winners of the event, former Daytona 500 pole winners who competed full-time the previous season and drivers who qualified for the 2017 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series playoffs.

“A double-header, featuring The Clash and Daytona 500 qualifying, is a great way to start the 2018 season,” said Steve O’Donnell, NASCAR executive vice president and chief racing development officer.

“The urgency created by the non-points race sets a tone for the season, providing a strong preview of the competition we expect will be a mainstay all year long.”

The eligible drivers are: Ryan Blaney, Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Chase Elliott, Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick, Erik Jones, Matt Kenseth, Brad Keselowski, Kyle Larson, Joey Logano, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Martin Truex Jr. (all pole winners).

Also, Austin Dillon, Jimmie Johnson and Danica Patrick (all former Daytona 500 pole winners) and Kasey Kahne, Jamie McMurray and Ryan Newman (all 2017 playoff drivers).

Earnhardt, Kenseth and Patrick do not plan to compete full-time in 2018, which could reduce the field to 17 drivers.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Cup
Event Daytona Clash
Track Daytona International Speedway
Article type Breaking news