Bourdais dominates at Milwaukee

Even with fresh tires, Helio Castroneves and Graham Rahal couldn't challenge the eventual race winner.

Sebastien Bourdais became just the fourth driver to win multiple races this season, earning his first win on an oval in nine years (also at Milwaukee) for KV Racing Technology, leading 117 of 250 laps.

Bourdais got off strategy during the second caution period of the race when Ryan Briscoe spun, collecting Will Power who made heavy contact with the outside wall. At one point, the entire field was put a lap down by the Frenchman until Justin Wilson's late-race engine failure set up an 18-lap sprint to the finish.

Bourdais, along with championship leader Juan Pablo Montoya and Ed Carpenter stayed out while the rest of the lead lap cars pitted for fresh rubber. On the restart, Helio Castroneves and Graham Rahal quickly disposed of Montoya/Carpenter. They found it more difficult to challenge a blistering fast Bourdais though, who was able to pull away and easily take the checkered flag.

The championship out look with four races remaining

Montoya fell back to fourth, but extended his points lead to 54 over Scott Dixon, who placed seventh. Rahal and Castroneves are now tied for third, both 69 points back of the lead. Power is another point behind them after crashing out of this race. Pole-sitter Josef Newgarden was the final driver inside the top five after leading the 109 laps early.

15 cars finished on the lead lap while Wilson, Karam, Coletti, Briscoe, Power, Jakes, and Mann failed to reach the checkered flag.

With 34 victories now, Bourdais is tied with Al Unser Jr. for seventh on the all-time wins list.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Event Milwaukee
Track Milwaukee Mile
Drivers Juan Pablo Montoya
Teams KV Racing Technology
Article type Race report