Di Grassi stripped of Mexico Formula E win

Lucas Di Grassi has been excluded from the final race results of the Mexico ePrix after failing a post-race scrutineering weight check.

The decision means that Jerome d’Ambrosio has been declared the winner of the inaugural Mexico City race.

The Abt Schaeffler FE01 that Di Grassi used in the first stint failed the minimum weight of 888 kilograms as dictated by article 5.1 of the FIA Formula E technical regulations. The car was weighed at 886.2kgs and as a result disqualified from the results.

The team has yet to make public if it will appeal the decision.

It is the second time in the space of a year that Di Grassi has lost a maximum points score after he was also denied a win at the Berlin ePrix last May. On that occasion the team was penalised for modifying a portion of the front wing and wheel fairings on its car.

Coincidentally d’Ambrosio’s Dragon Racing car was promoted to first place on that occasion also.

The Belgian was given his own post-race penalty as he lost the fastest lap and thus lost out on an ultimate perfect score in Mexico. Nicolas Prost took the extra points for the fastest lap after d’Ambrosio’s penalty.

Ballast may be used in Formula E, however it must be located on the keel, secured directly with a minimum of four M8 threads under the survival cell and in such a way that tools are required for its removal.

Di Grassi’s disqualification means Sebastien Buemi now leads the standings by 29 points.

Duval penalised; Prost elevated to third place

Loic Duval, meanwhile, lost his fourth place finish in Mexico after he was deemed to have missed the third chicane several times and also not respected a warning flag.

The Dragon Racing driver had finished the race in fourth position after Nicolas Prost was served with a drive-through penalty and Daniel Abt crashed on the penultimate lap.

However, the Frenchman is now demoted to fourth place (after Di Grassi’s exclusion), while Prost moves up to the bottom rung of the podium.

Before the stewards decision, Duval spoke to Motorsport.com and explained: “I had a small issue with I think the steering column. The car was massively heavy so I was struggling, especially on right-hand corners and I had to be cautious and careful.

"That was the reason I cut the last chicane as I couldn’t turn absolutely.”

Revised race results:

1 BelgiumJerome d'Ambrosio  United StatesDragon Racing Venturi VM200-FE-01 48:28.409
2 SwitzerlandSebastien Buemi  FranceDAMS Renault Z.E.15 +0.106
3 FranceNicolas Prost  FranceDAMS Renault Z.E.15 +25.537
4 FranceLoic Duval  United StatesDragon Racing Venturi VM200-FE-01 +26.358
5 NetherlandsRobin Frijns  United StatesAndretti Autosport Spark SRT_01E +28.477
6 United KingdomSam Bird  United KingdomVirgin Racing Virgin DSV-01 +28.928
7 GermanyDaniel Abt  GermanyAudi Sport Team Abt ABT Schaeffler FE01 +30.051
8 GermanyNick Heidfeld  IndiaMahindra Racing Mahindra M2ELECTRO +36.373
9 FranceStephane Sarrazin  MonacoVenturi Venturi VM200-FE-01 +37.291
10 BrazilBruno Senna  IndiaMahindra Racing Mahindra M2ELECTRO +37.603
11 United KingdomOliver Turvey  ChinaChina Racing NEXTEV TCR FormulaE 001 +38.598
12 United KingdomMike Conway  MonacoVenturi Venturi VM200-FE-01 +38.790
13 BrazilNelson Piquet Jr.  ChinaChina Racing NEXTEV TCR FormulaE 001 +42.351
14 SwitzerlandSimona de Silvestro  United StatesAndretti Autosport Spark SRT_01E +43.971
15 MexicoSalvador Duran  JapanTeam Aguri Spark SRT_01E +1:03.082
16 FranceJean-Eric Vergne  United KingdomVirgin Racing Virgin DSV-01 +1 lap
DQ Lucas di Grassi  Audi Sport Team Abt ABT Schaeffler FE01  
R Antonio Felix da Costa  Team Aguri Spark SRT_01E  
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula E
Event Mexico ePrix
Track Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez
Drivers Lucas di Grassi , Loic Duval , Jérôme d'Ambrosio
Article type Breaking news