Racing Engineering drops out as F2 names 2018 teams

Racing Engineering drops out as F2 names 2018 teams
By: Alex Kalinauckas
Feb 8, 2018, 5:40 PM

Long-standing Formula 2 outfit Racing Engineering has dropped out of the category ahead of the 2018 season, as the series announced a 10-team roster for the upcoming campaign.

2013 champion Fabio Leimer
Louis Deletraz, Racing Engineering and Gustav Malja, Racing Engineering
Gustav Malja, Racing Engineering
Jordan King, Racing Engineering leads Alexander Rossi, Racing Engineering
Luca Ghiotto, RUSSIAN TIME
Tadasuke Makino, RUSSIAN TIME

Racing Engineering was present on the initial list of 2018 competitors that was released last November, but has now forfeited its place.

Fortec, which was among three new additions to the November roster, has also dropped out, while reigning teams' champion Russian Time will return for a sixth straight season after all after some uncertainty over whether it would continue.

“I’m very pleased to confirm that our reigning champions Russian Time will join the 2018 grid,” said F2 CEO Bruno Michel.

“I would like to thank Alfonso de Orleans-Borbon and the whole Racing Engineering team for their dedication and hard work over the years. I’m looking forward to renewing our fruitful collaboration in the near future.

“I’m also sorry to see Fortec Motorsports step back this season, but this was a joint decision. We will reconsider their entry when the conditions are more favourable.

“I feel it best for our championship to limit the number of teams in 2018 to ten. I know they will provide yet again an incredible show.”

Racing Engineering spent 13 years racing in GP2/F2, winning the drivers’ title with Giorgio Pantano in 2008 and Fabio Leimer in 2013.

It was included on the entry list for the 2018 European Le Mans Series as using an Oreca 07-Gibson, with Norman Nato listed as its first driver.

“It is with great sadness that Racing Engineering is saying goodbye to the FIA Formula 2 championship,” said team boss de Orleans-Borbon.

“We have competed in this championship and the GP2 series for thirteen years and, in that time, we have had some wonderful memories of numerous race wins and championship success.

“Every year has been hard-fought in this most competitive of championships and we have always strived to improve every year.”

The 2018 F2 race numbers have also been announced, with Russian Time’s machines bearing numbers one and two.

Although the team has yet to announce which drivers it will sign for the upcoming season, it ran 2017 F2 runner-up Artem Markelov, GP3 race winner Arjun Maini and European F3 driver Tadasuke Makino in the post-season Abu Dhabi test.

The Carlin and Charouz Racing System teams, which will field Lando Norris and Sergio Sette Camara, and Antonio Fuoco and Louis Deletraz, will use numbers 18-19 and 20-21 respectively.

2018 F2 entry list:

Team Drivers
Russian Time




 Nyck de Vries

 Sean Gelael





 Jack Aitken

George Russell

MP Motorsport




 Nirei Fukuzumi



Luca Ghiotto






 Lando Norris

 Sergio Sette Camara


 Antonio Fuoco

 Louis Deletraz

Next FIA F2 article
Norris: McLaren not expecting me to win F2 title in 2018

Previous article

Norris: McLaren not expecting me to win F2 title in 2018

Next article

Russian Time to run Markelov, Makino in F2 in 2018

Russian Time to run Markelov, Makino in F2 in 2018
Load comments

About this article

Series FIA F2
Teams Racing Engineering , RUSSIAN TIME
Author Alex Kalinauckas
Article type Breaking news