Formula 1
Formula 1
R
Australian GP
12 Mar
-
15 Mar
Next event in
54 days
19 Mar
-
22 Mar
Next event in
61 days
02 Apr
-
05 Apr
Next event in
75 days
16 Apr
-
19 Apr
Next event in
89 days
30 Apr
-
03 May
Next event in
103 days
07 May
-
10 May
Next event in
110 days
21 May
-
24 May
Next event in
124 days
R
Azerbaijan GP
04 Jun
-
07 Jun
Next event in
138 days
11 Jun
-
14 Jun
Next event in
145 days
25 Jun
-
28 Jun
Next event in
159 days
02 Jul
-
05 Jul
Next event in
166 days
16 Jul
-
19 Jul
Next event in
180 days
R
Hungarian GP
30 Jul
-
02 Aug
Next event in
194 days
27 Aug
-
30 Aug
Next event in
222 days
03 Sep
-
06 Sep
Next event in
229 days
R
Singapore GP
17 Sep
-
20 Sep
Next event in
243 days
24 Sep
-
27 Sep
Next event in
250 days
08 Oct
-
11 Oct
Next event in
264 days
R
United States GP
22 Oct
-
25 Oct
Next event in
278 days
29 Oct
-
01 Nov
Next event in
285 days
R
Brazilian GP
12 Nov
-
15 Nov
Next event in
299 days
R
Abu Dhabi GP
26 Nov
-
29 Nov
Next event in
313 days

Magnussen remains at odds with "trigger-happy" F1 stewards

shares
comments
Magnussen remains at odds with "trigger-happy" F1 stewards
By:
Oct 10, 2019, 6:50 AM

Kevin Magnussen says he remains perplexed at the "trigger-happy" stewards who punished him at the Russian Grand Prix, because he is adamant he did nothing wrong.

The Dane was given a five-second penalty at Sochi for not passing to the left of two cones in the run off area for Turn 2, after he ran off the track during a battle with Racing Point’s Sergio Perez.

After the race he slammed the decision, which cost him one place, as "bullshit", while his team boss Gunther Steiner blamed a "stupid idiot steward" for what happened.

Although Magnussen has calmed down a little over the matter, he says he remains disappointed about what happened because he did not break the specific instructions about what drivers should or should not do when they run wide.

In event notes issues to drivers before the Russian GP, they were told that: “Any driver who fails to negotiate Turn 2 by using the track, and who passes completely to the left of the first orange kerb element prior to the apex, must re-join the track by driving to the left of the white blocks and remaining to the left of the orange block in the run off.”

Read Also:

However, Magnussen’s incident resulted in him missing the apex and running across the kerb – so the rules were not explicit about what he had to do.

“We were told one thing and I didn’t do what was said to be classified for a penalty,” explained Magnussen.

“They said that if you go completely to the left of the first element then you have to take the cones and if you don’t, you get a penalty. But I went across them [the kerbs].

“That is not written anywhere what to do then. So I tried to go there and take it, lost a lot of time. I think it was wrong and I think they know it was wrong.”

Magnussen said he tried to explain to the FIA over the radio that he did his best to try to get to the left of the cones, but the angle he was at meant it was impossible to get around the first one.

But he thinks that the stewards were too eager to hand down a punishment instead of carefully examining what the rules stated.

“I said I tried to make it but I couldn’t,” he said. “I think they made the rules so they should have looked at what they have told us... which is if you pass completely and specifically to the left of the first orange element then you have to take both. Which I didn’t.

“So how many do I need to take? I tried my best. It wasn’t like I just floored the throttle and didn’t lose any time. It felt like they just were trigger-happy.”

Next article
First look: Mercedes' Japanese GP upgrades

Previous article

First look: Mercedes' Japanese GP upgrades

Next article

Ricciardo's legal dispute with ex-advisor settled

Ricciardo's legal dispute with ex-advisor settled
Load comments

About this article

Series Formula 1
Author Jonathan Noble