Formula 1
Formula 1
29 Aug
01 Sep
Event finished
05 Sep
08 Sep
Event finished
19 Sep
22 Sep
Event finished
26 Sep
29 Sep
Event finished
10 Oct
13 Oct
Event finished
F1 2019

F1 2019

FIA approves Formula 1 2019 calendar and new rules

FIA approves Formula 1 2019 calendar and new rules
Oct 12, 2018, 6:36 PM

Formula 1’s 2019 calendar, as well as a host of technical and sporting changes to the rules, were formally approved by the FIA’s World Motor Sport Council on Friday.

Following a meeting in Paris, the 21-round schedule for 2019 was unchanged from the provisional F1 schedule that had been released by F1’s owners Liberty Media back in August.

The season will start in Australia on March 17, and finish with the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix on December 1.

The full F1 2019 entry list is as follows…

Date Grand Prix Venue
17th March Australia Melbourne
31st March Bahrain Sakhir
14th April China Shanghai
28th April Azerbaijan Baku
12th May Spain Barcelona
26th May Monaco Monaco
9th June Canada Montreal
23rd June France Paul Ricard
30th June Austria Red Bull Ring 
14th July Great Britian  Silverstone 
28th July  Germany  Hockenheim 
4th August Hungary  Hungaroring
1st September Belgium Spa 
8th September Italy Monza 
22nd September Singapore Singapore
29th September Russia  Sochi
13th October  Japan Suzuka 
27th October  Mexico Mexico City
3rd November USA Austin 
17th November Brazil  Interlagos 
1st December Abu Dhabi Yas Marina 


As well as the new calendar, the WMSC approved a raft of changes to the F1 rules for 2019 – as exclusively revealed previously by

Following approval by F1’s Strategy Group and the F1 Commission, the new rules include:

Other rule changes are:

  • Drivers will now only be allowed to overtake after a safety car period once they have crossed the start-finish line. Previously they had been allowed to do so at a safety car line
  • Teams will now be responsible for initial scrutineering of their cars and must declare that their cars comply with all safety related matters
  • A chequered light panel will be used at the end of the race alongside the traditional flag
  • For 2020, the team personnel curfew will increase from eight to nine hours


Next article
Why Russell earned his F1 chance – and Ocon missed out

Previous article

Why Russell earned his F1 chance – and Ocon missed out

Next article

Hamilton proposes "super weekend" format shake-up for F1

Hamilton proposes "super weekend" format shake-up for F1
Load comments

About this article

Series Formula 1
Author Jonathan Noble