Zandvoort WTCR: Bjork leads Cyan Racing 1-2 in first race

Thed Bjork converted pole position into victory in the first race of the World Touring Car Cup's Zandvoort weekend, with Yvan Muller completing a one-two for Cyan Racing.

Zandvoort WTCR: Bjork leads Cyan Racing 1-2 in first race

Despite a Balance of Performance change between qualifying and the race that reversed weight and power increases given to Cyan's Lynk & Co prior to the start of the weekend, Bjork won with relative ease - although he and Muller were kept on their toes by the Cupra of third-place finisher Mikel Azcona.

The Lynk & Co has quickly gained a reputation for pulling away well and Bjork and Muller demonstrated that at the start of the 12-lap race, with Bjork maintaining his advantage on the run to Tarzan.

But the leading duo were closely pursued through the opening corners by Azcona, who passed the third Lynk & Co of Andy Priaulx on the run to the first corner.

Bjork did not pull clear of Muller - whose mirrors were full of Azcona's PWR Cupra throughout the race - at any point, but always had a safe margin in hand over his four-time World Touring Car champion teammate and remained ahead until the finish.

His winning margin was 0.704 seconds, with Muller a further 0.566s clear of Azcona - who appeared to have better pace through the corners than the Lynk & Cos but was unable to draw close enough on the straights.

Fourth place changed hands on the final lap, as double World Rallycross champion Johan Kristoffersson surged past Priaulx to claim his best finish since switching to WTCR for 2019.

Kristoffersson ran side-by-side with Priaulx through the opening sequence of corners before ceding the position and, despite sticking with the third Lynk & Co, appeared destined to finish fifth.

But a superior exit off the banked Hugenholz corner on the final lap allowed Kristoffersson to draft his Sebastien Loeb Racing Volkswagen past Priaulx's car through the subsequent sequence of high-speed kinks.

Mehdi Bennani made up two places on the opening lap to run sixth in his SLR VW and would go on to finish in that position, ahead of Yann Ehrlacher, who also made up two positions in the fourth Lynk & Co after receiving a five-place grid penalty after qualifying.

Nicky Catsburg was the only Hyundai representative to score points, finishing 10th in his BRC Racing-run entry, ahead of Jean-Karl Vernay (WRT Audi) and Esteban Guerrieri.

The four points Guerrieri scored for finishing 12th move him into a one-point lead in the drivers' standings, as Munnich Motorsport teammate Nestor Girolami scored only one point despite making up three positions to finish 15th in his Honda.

Daniel Haglof (PWR Cupra) and Aurelien Panis (Comtoyou Cupra) were the other points scorers to finish between the pair.

Race 1 results:

Cla Driver Chassis Gap
1 Sweden Thed Björk Lynk & Co  
2 France Yvan Muller Lynk & Co 0.704
3 Spain Mikel Azcona CUPRA 1.270
4 Sweden Johan Kristoffersson Volkswagen 3.062
5 Guernsey Andy Priaulx Lynk & Co 3.631
6 Morocco Mehdi Bennani Volkswagen 4.277
7 France Yann Ehrlacher Lynk & Co 4.592
8 Germany Benjamin Leuchter Volkswagen 5.179
9 Belgium Frederic Vervisch Audi 5.870
10 Netherlands Nick Catsburg Hyundai 5.984
11 France Jean-Karl Vernay Audi 6.525
12 Argentina Esteban Guerrieri Honda 6.768
13 Sweden Daniel Haglof CUPRA 7.167
14 France Aurelien Panis CUPRA 9.185
15 Argentina Nestor Girolami Honda 9.460
16 Netherlands Niels Langeveld Audi 9.939
17 Netherlands Tom Coronel CUPRA 10.892
18 Hungary Attila Tassi Honda 13.074
19 United Kingdom Gordon Shedden Audi 15.483
20 Italy Kevin Ceccon Alfa Romeo 15.773
21 Portugal Tiago Monteiro Honda 16.946
22 Italy Gabriele Tarquini Hyundai 17.397
23 China Ma Qing Hua Alfa Romeo 17.503
24 Hungary Norbert Michelisz Hyundai 1 Lap
25 United Kingdom Rob Huff Volkswagen 4 Laps
26 Brazil Augusto Farfus Hyundai 6 Laps
TCR Australia targets WTCR wildcard entry

Previous article

TCR Australia targets WTCR wildcard entry

Next article

Zandvoort WTCR: Guerrieri wins, Kristoffersson on podium

Zandvoort WTCR: Guerrieri wins, Kristoffersson on podium
Load comments