Sepang WTCR: Guerrieri wins from 9th to set up title showdown

Esteban Guerrieri ensured the World Touring Car Cup title fight will go down to the season finale by claiming a vital win in a heavily disrupted second Sepang race.

Sepang WTCR: Guerrieri wins from 9th to set up title showdown
Listen to this article

The Honda driver dominated the race either side of a red-flag stoppage that lasted more than an hour, first by charging through the pack in his Civic Type R and then by reclaiming the lead from his teammate after the restart to earn his fourth victory of 2019.

Guerrieri had stormed from his ninth-place grid position into the lead before half of the opening lap had been completed, though the race was soon neutralised when Nicky Catsburg's car caught fire.

Catsburg had, moments earlier, caused a collision with his BRC Racing teammate Norbert Michelisz's title rival Yvan Muller.

Four-time world champion Muller, who like Guerrieri had climbed the order, was fourth when he was hit from behind Catsburg's Hyundai.

Catsburg, on slick front tyres, followed Muller's line into the Turn 9 hairpin but then moved for the inside on the approach to the corner and T-boned the Cyan Racing driver's Lynk & Co 03.

Muller - who said he was Catsburg's "target" and had been hit "three corners before" - continued, but Catsburg stopped on the grass runoff on the exit of the corner before a fire emerged from the bonnet of his i30 N.

Though the fire was extinguished and Catsburg's car was recovered, a 56-minute delay ensued before the race was resumed under a safety car.

The order was also taken from the previous sector, which meant Guerrieri took the restart in second behind his teammate Nestor Girolami, with Muller fifth and points leader Michelisz 13th.

Guerrieri took the lead shortly after the race resumed on lap four, with Girolami measuring his pace to ensure his Argentinian compatriot could make a break at the front.

The Munnich Motorsport driver did just that and, even though Girolami was passed by Mikel Azcona's PWR Cupra late on, Guerrieri was more than 10 seconds up the road by that point.

A late safety car, deployed when Attila Tassi stopped his KCMG Honda on track, guaranteed Guerrieri the win, which helped him reduce his arrears in the title race to 10 points.

Behind Azcona, double World Rallycross champion Johan Kristoffersson also found a way past Girolami and completed the podium in his Sebastien Loeb Racing Volkswagen Golf GTI.

Girolami finished fourth ahead of the Team Mulsanne Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce of Kevin Ceccon, while a sixth-place finish for Muller signalled the end of his title bid.

Michelisz finished eighth - behind Muller's nephew Yann Ehrlacher - after recovering from an off following the initial start.

The Hungarian locked up at the Turn 9 hairpin moments after Catsburg and Muller had collided, though was able to rejoin the circuit after dragging his Hyundai i30 N out of the grass.

He took the restart in 13th, but made up two positions in the opening half of the first racing lap then passed Tiago Monteiro exiting the final corner, despite receiving a hit from the KCMG Honda.

Augusto Farfus then moved over to give Michelisz another position, while the Hungarian also overtook Rob Huff's SLR Volkswagen to complete his recovery.

Michelisz will start the final race from pole, and shares the front row with Guerrieri.

Huff and fellow SLR driver Benjamin Leuchter made it three Volkswagens in the top 10, while the points were completed by Aurelien Panis (Comtoyou Cupra), Monteiro, the fourth VW of Mehdi Bennani and Audi drivers Jean-Karl Vernay and Niels Langeveld.

Race results

Cla # Driver Chassis Laps Time
1 86 Argentina Esteban Guerrieri Honda 11 -
2 96 Spain Mikel Azcona CUPRA 11 1.023
3 14 Sweden Johan Kristoffersson Volkswagen 11 1.368
4 29 Argentina Nestor Girolami Honda 11 2.198
5 31 Italy Kevin Ceccon Alfa Romeo 11 2.313
6 100 France Yvan Muller Lynk & Co 11 2.500
7 68 France Yann Ehrlacher Lynk & Co 11 3.894
8 5 Hungary Norbert Michelisz Hyundai 11 4.498
9 12 United Kingdom Rob Huff Volkswagen 11 5.033
10 33 Germany Benjamin Leuchter Volkswagen 11 6.270
11 21 France Aurelien Panis CUPRA 11 6.966
12 18 Portugal Tiago Monteiro Honda 11 8.821
13 25 Morocco Mehdi Bennani Volkswagen 11 9.511
14 69 France Jean-Karl Vernay Audi 11 10.095
15 10 Netherlands Niels Langeveld Audi 11 10.705
16 27 Mitchell Cheah Hyundai 11 11.274
17 55 China Ma Qing Hua Alfa Romeo 11 13.607
18 38 Joao Paulo   11 14.408
19 8 Brazil Augusto Farfus Hyundai 11 14.667
20 50 Netherlands Tom Coronel CUPRA 11 16.685
21 111 Guernsey Andy Priaulx Lynk & Co 11 17.847
22 15 Hafizh Syahrin Hyundai 11 18.159
23 11 Sweden Thed Björk Lynk & Co 11 19.074
24 65 Malaysia Douglas Khoo Koh Hui CUPRA 11 20.589
25 22 Belgium Frederic Vervisch Audi 11 21.395
26 1 Italy Gabriele Tarquini Hyundai 11 1'10.622
27 52 United Kingdom Gordon Shedden Audi 9 2 laps
  9 Hungary Attila Tassi Honda 8 3 laps
  37 Sweden Daniel Haglof CUPRA 5 6 laps
  88 Netherlands Nick Catsburg Hyundai 0 -
Sepang WTCR: Michelisz closes on title with victory
Previous article

Sepang WTCR: Michelisz closes on title with victory

Next article

Sepang WTCR: Michelisz crowned champion in dramatic finale

Sepang WTCR: Michelisz crowned champion in dramatic finale