You don’t change a winning team!

José María López, Yvan Muller and Sébastien Loeb, who have secured the top three spots in the 2014 World Championship standings*, will all be continuing their association with the team.

In 2015, there will once again be three official Citroën C-Elysée WTCCs competing in Citroën Total colours. “We were completely satisfied with our drivers, and they didn’t have any thoughts of going elsewhere, so it was easy to sort out,” explains Yves Matton.

“José María López has had the perfect season this year, thanks to his unwavering commitment. He has blazed a trail for a new generation of drivers, but now he will have to defend his title, and he will be up against some highly motivated rivals, not least his own teammates,” Citroën Racing’s Team Principal continues. “Despite his unflagging efforts throughout the year, Yvan Muller has really been short of success, and he is eager to start afresh next season and go after a fifth world title.

After achieving his first race wins in the discipline this year, Sébastien Loeb will be looking to do even better next season. Switching from rallying to track racing was a huge challenge to take on, but he has already shown that he has all the qualities necessary to become one of the best drivers in the competition.”

Two private Citroën C-Elysée WTCCs to SLR

In addition to the official team, two further Citroën C-Elysée WTCCs will be taking part in the championship. They will be operated by Sébastien Loeb Racing, the team set up by the nine-time World Rally Champion. “Since it was created, SLR has amassed real know-how at international circuits, in both GT and sports prototype racing.

"The FIA WTCC marks a new stage in the team’s development,” explains Seb. “I didn’t have to think for very long when the opportunity presented itself for the 2015 season. Since the new TC1s were introduced, the championship has been attracting more and more interest, and it’s great for Sébastien Loeb Racing to be involved.”

“Entrusting the two private Citroën C-Elysée WTCCs to SLR was an obvious choice,” adds Yves Matton. “The two cars will be good-as-new reconditioned 2014 chassis, complete with all the developments we introduce next season. It’s now up to the team to finalise its agreements as far as its drivers are concerned, but we are all working together to make it possible for Ma Qing Hua to continue his FIA WTCC career with Citroën. His performances have shown that he deserves the chance to race a full season in 2015.”

* Subject to official publication of the results by the FIA.

Citroën Racing


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WTCC
Drivers Sébastien Loeb , Yvan Muller , Jose Maria Lopez , Ma Qinghua , Yves Matton
Teams Citroën World Rally Team , Sébastien Loeb Racing
Article type Breaking news
Tags citroen