Twenty-five cars entered in the opening event at Monza

After the kick off at Monza, Italy, the World Touring Car Championship will visit eleven other countries over four continents.

The 2013 FIA World Touring Car Championship proved to be in excellent shape, as twenty-five cars have been entered by fifteen teams in the WTCC season opener that takes place at Monza, Italy, on March 24.

The entry list features model cars built by five different car Manufacturers: BMW (8), SEAT (7), Chevrolet (5), Honda (3) and LADA (2).

Among the drivers who are aiming to fight for the World Champion’s crown are three former WTCC winners: Yvan Muller (champion in 2008, 2010 and 2011) at the wheel of a Chevrolet Cruze run by RML, Gabriele Tarquini (champion in 2009) who drives a Civic for the Honda Racing Team JAS, and reigning champion Rob Huff who joined the ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport in a SEAT León.

Gabriele Tarquini and Tiago Monteiro
Gabriele Tarquini and Tiago Monteiro

Photo by: Honda Racing Team JAS

A group of WTCC race winners will challenge the three world champions: Tom Coronel (ROAL Motorsport BMW 320 TC), Stefano D’Aste (PB Racing BMW 320 TC), Tiago Monteiro (Honda Racing Team JAS Honda Civic), Franz Engstler (Liqui Moly Team Engstler BMW 320 TC), James Thompson (LADA Sport Lukoil LADA Granta) and Norbert Michelisz (Zengö Motorsport Honda Civic).

The field is completed by a number of other competitive young drivers: the 18-year old Spaniard Pepe Oriola (Tuenti Racing SEAT León), the British duo of James Nash and Alex Mac Dowall (bamboo-engineering Chevrolet Cruze), the 2012 FIA GT1 World Champion Marc Basseng (ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport SEAT León), Tom Chilton (RML Chevrolet Cruze) and many others.

The Seat Leon of Marc Basseng
The Seat Leon of Marc Basseng

Photo by: Münnich Motorsport

FIA President Jean Todt commented: “It is very rewarding for the FIA to see that the WTCC has attracted such a field and the interest of important car Manufacturers. Quantity and quality are both there, meaning that we should expect exciting races and a close fight for the title. This success is the best evidence that the joint effort put in by the FIA and championship promoter Eurosport Events are actually paying off.”

After the kick off at Monza, Italy, the World Championship will visit eleven other countries over four continents. The season’s finale will be at Macau on November 17.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WTCC
Drivers Tom Coronel , Tiago Monteiro , Yvan Muller , Tom Chilton , James Thompson , Franz Engstler , Rob Huff , Gabriele Tarquini , Marc Basseng , Jean Todt , Norbert Michelisz , James Nash , Pepe Oriola
Teams ROAL Motorsport , Honda Racing Team JAS , Zengo Motorsport , Münnich Motorsport
Article type Breaking news
Tags bmw, chevrolet, fia, honda, lada, monza, seat, wtcc