Rob Huff and Chevrolet received 2012 awards at FIA Gala in Istanbul

At the Ciragan Palace, FIA World Touring Car Championship 2012 title winners were honored in Turkey.

FIA World Touring Car Championship - Robert Huff
FIA World Touring Car Championship - Robert Huff

Photo by: FIA

Rob Huff and Chevrolet were officially named 2012 FIA World Touring Car champions during the traditional FIA prize giving gala in that took place for the first time at Istanbul.

In the sumptuous setting of the Ciragan Palace, the FIA honoured all its champions in a progression from Karting to Formula One. The part of the ceremony dedicated to the presentation of the WTCC trophies culminated in an all-Chevrolet podium with the Cruze 1.6T racing car on the background. Alain Menu and Yvan Muller – second and third in the championship respectively – received the runner up trophies, lining on either side of Rob Huff. Then Chevrolet Europe’s Communications Director Vijay Iyer joined them to receive the Manufacturers’ trophy.

Rob Huff was awarded the Drivers’ World Championship trophy for the first time, after he finished twice in third and once in second, while Iyer collected Chevrolet’s third consecutive Manufacturers’ Championship trophy.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WTCC
Drivers Yvan Muller , Rob Huff , Alain Menu
Article type Breaking news
Tags chevrolet, fia, huff, istanbul, wtcc