Nine drivers escape penalties after Thailand carnage

A total of nine drivers were summoned to the stewards after a pair of accident-strewn races at the Chang International Circuit in Thailand, albeit all escaped without significant penalties.

While many drivers vented frustration about the quality of driving after the race, only ROAL Motorsport's Tom Coronel was sanctioned with a reprimand.

The two Ladas of Nicky Catsburg and Nicolas Lapierre were eliminated from both races in just one corner at the start of Race 1 in an incident with Coronel.

The stewards found Coronel to blame for the incident, but deemed only a reprimand was necessary for the Dutchman. All three cars were unable to take part in Race 2 due to damage.

The next incident involved the Zengo Honda of Norbert Michelisz, the Campos Racing Chevrolet of Hugo Valente and Citroen driver Yvan Muller.

All three were eliminated from the race in the crash, with Valente's car also unable to take part in Race 2. The Frenchman was investigated for the contact, but the stewards deemed no action necessary.

The other Campos driver John Filippi and Honda's Tiago Monteiro were also investigated for a collision on lap six of Race 1, after which Filippi was forced to retire from the race. Again, the stewards deemed no action was necessary.

In Race 2, the Citroen pair of Jose Maria Lopez and Ma Qing Hua were called the stewards, and Lopez again for a separate incident with Gabriele Tarquini.

Citroen driver Mehdi Bennani was also called for "contact with several cars", but in all instances, no action was taken, leaving Coronel as the only driver to receive any reprimand for the day's activity.

Neil Hudson / TouringCarTimes

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WTCC
Event Buriram
Track Chang International Circuit
Drivers Tom Coronel , Tiago Monteiro , Nicolas Lapierre , Jose Maria Lopez , Mehdi Bennani , Ma Qinghua , Norbert Michelisz , Nick Catsburg , Hugo Valente , John Filippi
Teams Campos Racing , Sébastien Loeb Racing , Citroën World Touring Car team , Lada Sport , Honda Racing Team JAS , Zengo Motorsport
Article type Breaking news