Muller leads Citroen podium lockout in Slovakia

Yvan Muller took his fourth win of the 2015 World Touring Car Championship season at the Slovkiaring, leading a perfect 1-2-3 for Citroen.

In doing so, Muller closed the points gap to teammate Jose Maria Lopez to 27 in a race which saw an abnormally high level of attrition.

The first retirement was effectively Craft-Bamboo Racing's Gregoire Demoustier.

The Frenchman's car had been repaired overnight after a crash in FP2, but a last-minute engine problem saw him unable to start from his 19th position on the grid and from the pitlane, only to retire one lap in to the race.

At the start, the three Citroens bolted away into Turn 1 and were several car lengths ahead of Rob Huff's Lada and Hugo Valente's Campos Racing Chevrolet by the time they reached the corner, with Muller leading Lopez and Loeb in the formation in which they started.

The second Lada Vesta of Nicky Catsburg had a relatively poor start and was down to eighth, while Ma Qing Hua moved his Citroen before the lights went out, and then bogged down when they actually did disengage, dropping him to dead last.

Suffering technical problems during the race was Lada's Jaap van Lagen and Campos Racing's Mat'o Homola, who all made early visits to the pits.

The only cars able to pass during the early phase of the race were the out-of-place Citroens of Mehdi Bennani and Ma.

Bennani worked his way up to eighth position before pitting to retire with a problem, while Ma worked his way from the back of the field to 11th before retiring to the pits, with the team declaring this was to prepare the car for his more preferable starting position for race two.

Zengo Honda driver Norbert Michelisz suffered a puncture at the start of lap eight and went off at Turn 1 through the gravel trap, relinquishing the position to Honda's Tiago Monteiro, who'd been harrying him throughout the race.

A late move in the race by Nika Honda's Nestor Girolami saw the Argentinian guest driver grab tenth place from Munnich Motorsport Chevrolet driver Stefano D'Aste, with just 12 cars completing the full race distance.

Muller won the race 1.7 seconds clear of Lopez and now trails his team-mate by 27 points heading into today's second race, where he starts tenth on the grid and Lada's Jaap van Lagen starts on pole.

Race results:

Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
Yvan Muller Citroen 23'19.032
Jose Maria Lopez Citroen 1.749
Sebastien Loeb Citroen 2.868
Rob Huff Lada 12.282
Hugo Valente Chevrolet 16.882
Gabriele Tarquini Honda 17.194
Tom Chilton Chevrolet 21.737
Tiago Monteiro Honda 25.131
Tom Coronel Chevrolet 27.040
10  Nestor Girolami Honda 34.695
11  Stefano D'Aste Chevrolet 41.017
12  John Filippi Chevrolet 45.612
13  Mat'o Homola Chevrolet 2 laps
Ret Ma Qing Hua Citroen  
Ret Nicky Catsburg Lada  
Ret Mehdi Bennani Citroen  
Ret Jaap van Lagen Lada  
Ret Norbert Michelisz Honda  
Ret Gregoire Demoustier Chevrolet  

Neil Hudson / TouringCarTimes

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WTCC
Event Slovakia
Track Slovakia Ring
Drivers Yvan Muller
Teams Citroën World Touring Car team
Article type Race report