Moscow WTCC: Monteiro leads Honda 1-2-3 in Friday test

Tiago Monteiro set the fastest lap in the Moscow WTCC's testing session, leading a Honda 1-2-3 to kickstart the track action this weekend.

Moscow WTCC: Monteiro leads Honda 1-2-3 in Friday test

The Portuguese set a best time of 1m38.523s in his Honda and was followed by teammates Norbert Michelisz and Rob Huff, with the 2012 champion 0.398 seconds off the pace.

Nicky Catsburg defended the Lada corner at home in fourth position, lapping with his Vesta WTCC 0.472 seconds off the pace.

Volvo Polestar driver Thed Bjork was next in the classification at the wheel of the S60 TC1, a further 0.170 seconds behind, with Hugo Valente in at sixth for Lada Sport.

Reigning champion and standings leader Jose Maria Lopez followed in seventh position, being also the fastest of the Citroen C-Elysee WTCC cars, 0.725 seconds off the pace and just one thousandth behind Valente.

Volvo Polestar’s Fredrik Ekblom was eighth, with Mehdi Bennani ending up the fastest of the WTCC Trophy participants in his SLR Citroen. The Moroccan was 0.848 seconds behind Monteiro.

Campos Racing driver John Filippi completed the top 10, being the best of the Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1s on track, 0.869 seconds off the pace.

Bennani’s teammate Tom Chilton was next in the classification, 0.985 seconds behind Monteiro. The Briton has been nominated by Citroen to complete the MAC3 trio for tomorrow’s post-qualifying session.

James Thompson, who is on duty for Munnich Motorsport for the third time this season, was 15th-fastest, 2.105 seconds off the pace.

The session was completed in dry weather conditions and was largely trouble-free, with all 17 entrants this weekend taking to the track.

FP0 results:

1 PortugalTiago Monteiro  Honda 1:38.523 13
2 HungaryNorbert Michelisz  Honda 1:38.828 13
3 United KingdomRob Huff  Honda 1:38.921 13
4 NetherlandsNicky Catsburg  Lada 1:38.995 13
5 SwedenThed Björk  Volvo 1:39.165 11
6 FranceHugo Valente  Lada 1:39.247 12
7 ArgentinaJose Maria Lopez  Citroen 1:39.248 11
8 SwedenFredrik Ekblom  Volvo 1:39.284 11
9 MoroccoMehdi Bennani  Citroen 1:39.371 14
10 FranceJohn Filippi  Chevrolet 1:39.392 12
11 United KingdomTom Chilton  Citroen 1:39.508 13
12 NetherlandsTom Coronel  Chevrolet 1:39.819 12
13 ItalyGabriele Tarquini  Lada 1:39.890 12
14 FranceYvan Muller  Citroen 1:39.890 9
15 United KingdomJames Thompson  Chevrolet 1:40.628 13
16 FranceGrégoire Demoustier  Citroen 1:41.256 13
17 HungaryFerenc Ficza  Honda 1:41.411 13

Tamara Aller / TouringCarTimes

Chilton "massively worried" about WTCC future
Previous article

Chilton "massively worried" about WTCC future

Next article

Michelisz hopes Lopez and Muller stay in WTCC after Citroen exit

Michelisz hopes Lopez and Muller stay in WTCC after Citroen exit
Load comments