Lopez stays on top in second practice at Hungary

Citroen's Jose Maria Lopez was again fastest in a wet second WTCC practice session at the Hungaroring, going just over half a second quicker than the Hondas of Gabriele Tarquini and Tiago Monteiro.

The top spot changed hands between three drivers during the 30-minute session, with Citroen's Yvan Muller setting the first benchmark with a time of 2m14.071s.

Lopez was cautious on his first run in the tricky wet conditions, which appeared more slippery than the first practice just two hours earlier, but soon took charge on his second flying lap and grabbed the top spot from his teammate with a time of 2m12.432s.

The Argentine was briefly deposed from first place when Tarquini went fastest during the middle part of the session, but Lopez found more time to go fastest of all with a time of 2m11.506s with just over 10 minutes remaining, and the conditions never improved enough to allow more time to be found.

Tarquini and Monteiro again completed the top three as in FP1, with Muller also again fourth, while Zengo Motorsport’s Norbert Michelisz was the fastest of the independents in fifth ahead of Lada's Rob Huff and the third Citroen of Ma Qing Hua.

Citroen had managed to repair the damaged C-Elysee of Sebastien Loeb after he crashed out at the start of the first practice at Turn 1, with the Frenchman finishing the session eighth ahead of the Chevrolets of Tom Coronel and Stefano D’Aste.

Campos Racing drivers Hugo Valente and John Filippi meanwhile will drop five places from wherever they qualify for the first race tomorrow in Hungary, after behind found guilty by the stewards of ignoring the yellow flags in first practice.

Practice results:

Pos Driver Car Time/Gap
Jose Maria Lopez Citroen 2m11.506
Gabriele Tarquini Honda 0.508
Tiago Monteiro Honda 1.106
Yvan Muller Citroen 1.741
Norbert Michelisz Honda 1.768
Rob Huff Lada 1.804
Ma Qing Hua Citroen 1.894
Sebastien Loeb Citroen 1.906
Tom Coronel Chevrolet 2.427
10  Stefano D'Aste Chevrolet 2.727
11  Tom Chilton Chevrolet 2.929
12  Mehdi Bennani Citroen 3.345
13  James Thompson Lada 4.081
14  Gregoire Demoustier Chevrolet 4.292
15  John Filippi Chevrolet 4.786
16  Mikhail Kozlovskiy Lada 5.124
17  Hugo Valente Chevrolet 5.629

Neil Hudson / TouringCarTimes

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WTCC
Event Hungaroring
Track Hungaroring
Drivers Tiago Monteiro , Jose Maria Lopez , Gabriele Tarquini
Teams Citroën World Touring Car team , Honda Racing Team JAS
Article type Practice report