Lopez leads Citroen 1-2-3 at the Nordschleife

Citroen's Jose Maria Lopez took a lights to flag victory at the Nurburgring Nordschleife, after the independent front-runners Hugo Valente and Norbert Michelisz made contact at the start of the race from second and fourth on the grid.

Campos Racing Chevrolet driver Valente bogged down at the start from second of the grid, moving to cover Michelisz’s Zengo Motorsport Honda, with the two making light contact, allowing Sebastien Loeb straight through to second and a fast-starting Yvan Muller up to third from sixth on the grid.

Michelisz settled into second while Valente dropped outside of the top 10 at the start, and began his charge back through the field.

Tom Coronel was caught up in an accident at the first corner in his ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet and chose to pit and the end of the Grand Prix loop on the first lap, while Rob Huff’s Lada ran into trouble on the first lap, with the British driver retiring at the end of the loop as well with damaged suspension.

There were no problems for new team-mate Jaap van Lagen however, who began to press forward in his Vesta, passing Gregoire Demoustier’s Craft-Bamboo Chevrolet on the first lap, and then John Filippi’s Campos Chevrolet on lap two.

Valente was making progress as well, passing Tiago Monteiro’s Honda with ease on the back straight between Turns 62 and 63, but the nimble Honda was able to get back ahead of the Grand Prix loop. Valente then cut the corner and spun on the loop, becoming the only driver to crash out of the race at the start of lap two.

For the last half of the race all eyes were on the Munnich Motorspot Chevrolet of Sabine Schmitz, at the time 11th but was promoted to tenth when Monteiro pulled into the pits and retired at the end of the second lap.

Schmitz was having to defend against fellow Nordschleife ‘ringer’ van Lagen throughout the last two laps, with the German driver able to block the Dutchman at every turn.

Lopez went on to take a historic first win at the Nordschleife by 4.9 seconds ahead of Loeb with Muller third, with Lopez now extending his points lead over Loeb to 42 points.

Race two follows with Honda’s Tiago Monteiro due to start from pole position ahead of ROAL Motorsport’s Tom Coronel, with Lopez starting 10th on the grid.

Neil Hudson / TouringCarTimes

Pos  Driver  Car   Time   Gap
Jose Maria Lopez Citroen 26m02.550  
Sebastien Loeb Citroen 26m07.480 4.930
Yvan Muller Citroen 26m11.309 8.759
Norbert Michelisz Honda 26m12.468 9.918
Ma Qing Hua Citroen 26m13.066 10.516
Gabriele Tarquini Honda 26m13.339 10.789
Mehdi Bennani Citroen 26m13.939 11.389
Stefano D'Aste Chevrolet 26m15.305 12.755
Tom Chilton Chevrolet 26m24.460 21.910
10  Sabine Schmitz Chevrolet 26m37.898 35.348
11  Jaap van Lagen Lada 26m38.276 35.726
12  John Filippi Chevrolet 26m39.122 36.572
13  Gregoire Demoustier Chevrolet 26m50.024 47.474
14  Tiago Monteiro Honda  
Hugo Valente Chevrolet  
Tom Coronel Chevrolet  
Rob Huff Lada
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WTCC
Event Nürburgring
Track Nurburgring
Drivers Jose Maria Lopez
Teams Citroën World Touring Car team
Article type Race report