Loeb secures first victory of 2015 after chaotic race start

Sebastien Loeb has won for the third time in his WTCC career.

WRC legend has gotten his first win of the new season out of the way early, winning the second race of the opening round.

An enthralling start

On a wild start that saw multiple cars go off track, Loeb sliced through the pack and taking control by the end of the first lap in a daring three-wide pass. He was joined out front by teammate Ma Qing Ha who had to give up the track position when grass blocked his grille.

Despite a Safety Car bringing the pack back together (and extending the race to 15 laps), no one was able to take the top spot from Loeb, who cruised to the third victory of his WTCC career. Teammate and Race 1 victor Jose Maria Lopez placed second with Honda's Tiago Monteiro third.

Notable incidents

In the chaotic second race, a big moment involving two Citroens with Yvan Muller spinning Mehdi Bennani, who rebounded to finish fifth. Muller was forced to pit soon after. Gabriele Tarquini came home fourth.

Battling pain to begun with, the day got worse for Dusan Borkovic who spun early and tore up the front of his car.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WTCC
Event Termas de Rio Hondo
Track Autodromo Termas de Rio Hondo
Drivers Sébastien Loeb , Tiago Monteiro , Yvan Muller , Jose Maria Lopez , Gabriele Tarquini , Mehdi Bennani , Dusan Borkovic
Article type Race report
Tags citroen