Fourth WTCC title for Yvan Muller

Yvan Muller secured the FIA World Touring Car championship for an unprecedented fourth time in the first race today at Suzuka

This was also the fifth consecutive Drivers’ Championship won by the Chevrolet cars run by the RML Group.

“This has a special taste because one month before the beginning of the season I did not have a drive. Then we managed to put a programme together without the backing of a manufacturer. Budget was low and we had to take care of everything. The whole team did a lot of sacrifices. But now we have the pay back for this. And I must thank RML and Lukoil for giving me the opportunity to clinch another world title,” said Muller, who will join Citroën and Sébastien Loeb in 2014. Four WTCC titles for Muller, nine for Loeb in WRC make 13.

“Maybe it’s a lucky number for Citroën and WTCC. The championship will be interesting, because if you add Tarquini and Huff you have a total of 15 FIA world title on the grid. We just need to call Andy Priaulx back...”

Muller had already won the WTCC title in 2008 for SEAT Sport, 2010 and 2011 for Chevrolet. 


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WTCC
Drivers Andy Priaulx , Sébastien Loeb , Yvan Muller
Teams Citroën World Rally Team
Article type Breaking news
Tags chevolet, chevrolet, four championships, muller, rml, world touring cars, wtcc