World Superbike reveals 24-bike 2022 entry list

The FIM has revealed a provisional entry list for the 2022 World Superbike season comprising 24 riders.

World Superbike reveals 24-bike 2022 entry list
Listen to this article

As per last season, five different manufacturers are represented on the entry list, with defending champion marque Yamaha set to face opposition from Kawasaki, Ducati, BMW and Honda.

Yamaha is the best-represented marque with six bikes, followed by Ducati and Kawasaki with five each. BMW and Honda meanwhile have both expanded to four bikes, their respective satellite teams (Bonovo and MIE Racing) having both added second entries.

An extra Yamaha squad has been announced in the form of Motoxracing, which will field a solo R1 for ex-Orelac Kawasaki man Isaac Vinales.

The entry list also confirms that Yamaha's Toprak Razgatlioglu will use the #1 plate instead of his usual #54 for his title defence, while his main 2021 rival Jonathan Rea's Kawasaki will sport the #65 for the first time since 2015.

Chaz Davies' retirement has cleared the way for new Honda signing Iker Lecuona to use the #7 for his rookie season.

Read Also:

Loris Baz is also able to return to his traditional #76 on his return to WSBK after a year spent in MotoAmerica, having had to use the #11 for his cameo outings for the GoEleven Ducati team late last year.

Only one rider is yet to be announced, with Kawasaki's satellite team Pedercini yet to reveal its plan for 2022. The team's 2021 rider Loris Cresson is notably absent from the list, despite having had a two-year contract.

Read Also:

Winter testing resumes this week at Jerez, where Kawasaki and Honda will be present for two days of action.

2022 WSBK entry list:

No. Rider Bike Team
1 Turkey Toprak Razgatlioglu Yamaha PATA Yamaha WorldSBK Team
3 Japan Kohta Nozane Yamaha

GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team

5 Germany Philipp Oettl Ducati Team GoEleven
7 Spain Iker Lecuona Honda Team HRC
19 Spain Alvaro Bautista Ducati

Aruba.It Racing - Ducati

21 Italy Michael Ruben Rinaldi Ducati

Aruba.It Racing - Ducati

22 United Kingdom Alex Lowes Kawasaki Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK
23 France Christophe Ponsson Yamaha Gil Motor Sport
29 San Marino Luca Bernardi Ducati Barni Racing Team
31 United States Garrett Gerloff Yamaha GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team
32 Spain Isaac Vinales Yamaha Motoxracing WorldSBK Team
35 Malaysia Hafizh Syahrin Honda MIE Racing Honda Team
36 Argentina Leandro Mercado Honda MIE Racing Honda Team
44 France Lucas Mahias Kawasaki

Kawasaki Puccetti Racing

45 United Kingdom Scott Redding  BMW BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team
47 Italy Axel Bassani Ducati Motocorsa Racing
50 Ireland Eugene Laverty BMW Bonovo MGM Racing
52 Czech Republic Oliver Konig Kawasaki Orelac Racing
55 Italy Andrea Locatelli Yamaha PATA Yamaha WorldSBK Team
60 Netherlands Michael van der Mark BMW BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team
65 United Kingdom Jonathan Rea Kawasaki Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK
76 France Loris Baz BMW Bonovo MGM Racing
97 Spain Xavi Vierge Honda Team HRC
TBA TBA Kawasaki Team Pedercini Racing

Ponsson continues with family-run Gil Yamaha WSBK team

Honda "really impressed" by WSBK rookies Lecuona and Vierge