Qatar WSBK: Rea crowned champion as Davies wins again

Jonathan Rea defended his World Superbike title by finishing Race 1 at Qatar in second place behind Chaz Davies, who took his fifth straight win.

Starting from pole, Kawasaki rider Rea had a better getaway than fellow front row starters Nicky Hayden and Davies, but the latter managed to pass the champion-elect at Turn 1 regardless.

The duo quickly pulled away from the rest led, by Hayden's Honda and Tom Sykes on the second Kawasaki.

Sykes, who needed a win and Rea not to score more than one point to stay in contention for the title, was soon overtaken by Sylvain Guintoli.

Rea continued to closely follow Davies for much of the distance before ground in the latter stages, allowing the Ducati rider to take his 10th win of the season and his fifth in succession.

Guintoli also passed Hayden to score Yamaha's first podium of the season, with the latter also being overtaken by Sykes on the last lap.

Hayden was followed Spaniards Xavi Fores (Barni Ducati) and Jordi Torres (Althea BMW) and the second Yamaha bike of Alex Lowes.

Michael van der Mark (Honda) recovered from a poor start to take ninth ahead of Lorenzo Savadori (Ioda Aprilia).

Former WSBK regular Leon Haslam, who makes his first and only appearance of the 2016 season this weekend for Pedercini Kawasaki, finished 11th.

Rea became the first back-to-back WSBK champion since Carl Fogarty defended his title in 1999.

Race 1 results

1  Chaz Davies  Ducati  
2  Jonathan Rea  Kawasaki +3.904
3  Sylvain Guintoli  Yamaha +10.498
4  Tom Sykes  Kawasaki +12.606
5  Nicky Hayden  Honda +12.766
6  Xavi Forés  Ducati +17.879
7  Alex Lowes  Yamaha +18.461
8  Jordi Torres  BMW +19.045
9  Michael van der Mark  Honda +20.882
10  Lorenzo Savadori  Aprilia +30.057
11  Leon Haslam  Kawasaki +34.270
12  Raffaele De Rosa  BMW +34.420
13  Alex de Angelis  Aprilia +34.936
14  Roman Ramos  Kawasaki +37.786
15  Josh Brookes  BMW +37.834
16  Luca Scassa  Ducati +55.890
17  Saeed Al Sulaiti  Kawasaki +69.075
18  Leon Camier  MV Agusta +79.301
19  Dominic Schmitter  Kawasaki +85.103
20  Peter Sebestyen  Yamaha +107.707
21  Gianluca Vizziello  Kawasaki 4 laps
   Karel Abraham  BMW 6 laps
   Davide Giugliano  Ducati 7 laps
   Markus Reiterberger  BMW 10 laps
   Pawel Szkopek  Yamaha  

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World Superbike
Event Losail
Track Losail International Circuit
Drivers Chaz Davies , Jonathan Rea
Teams Ducati Team , Kawasaki Racing
Article type Race report