Qatar WSBK: Haslam outduels Davies in sublime season finale

Leon Haslam took his second victory of the 2015 World Superbikes season, passing Chaz Davies in the final corner to sweep the Losail round for Aprilia.

Qatar WSBK: Haslam outduels Davies in sublime season finale
Leon Haslam, Aprilia Racing Team
Leon Haslam, Aprilia Racing Team
Chaz Davies, Ducati Team
Chaz Davies, Ducati Team
Tom Sykes, Kawasaki
Tom Sykes, Kawasaki
Jordi Torres, Aprilia Racing Team

Haslam tried again and again to make the move stick on Davies throughout the race, but could not get it done for good until the very last turn, recording his first win since the opening round of the year.

Series champion Jonathan Rea took the lead from teammate Tom Sykes off the line at the start, chasing a finish that would let him overhaul the points record set by Colin Edwards back in 2002.

However, he surrendered the lead to Davies into Turn 1 on the second lap and was passed by Haslam into the same corner shortly thereafter.

The top six went on to break away from the rest of the field, but it soon lost one of its riders, with Rea pulling into the pits with a mechanical issue and coming up four points short of Edwards' record.

With him out of the picture, it was all about Davies and Haslam, with the Ducati carrying the advantage through the corners and the Aprilia excelling on the main straight.

On lap 10, Haslam finally pulled off a pass on Davies into Turn 1, only for the Ducati man to retake the lead into Turn 6.

Haslam's next best try, after numerous futile attempts to outbrake Davies, came with two laps to go, as the Aprilia rider overtook the Ducati man round the outside of Turn 1.

However, just as Haslam's teammate and Race 1 winner Jordi Torres fell out of fourth, Davies reclaimed the spot - and then managed to hang on on the main straight win one lap to go, with Haslam running wide into Turn 1.

But Haslam remained stuck in throughout the lap and Davies, focussing on getting the best possible exit out of the last corner, ran wide and allowed his rival to get side-by-side and outdrag him to the line.

Sykes looked to get involved in the fight but eventually brought the bike home four tenths off in third, while Michael van der Mark cruised to a fourth-place finish.

Sylvain Guintoli saw out his Honda tenure with a fifth place, ahead of Leandro Mercado, who recorded his personal-best finish in the series, and Randy de Puniet, who equalled his best result of 2015.

Niccolo Canepa, David Salom and Ayrton Badovini rounded out the top 10.

Alex Lowes' two-year stint with Suzuki fizzled out with a mechanical retirement on the opening lap.

Xavi Fores, who was set to start on the front row alongside the Kawasakis, missed the race due to a virus.

Pos. Driver Team Time/Delay
1  Leon Haslam Aprilia 33'45.745
2  Chaz Davies Ducati 0.110
3  Tom Sykes Kawasaki 0.388
4 Michael van der Mark Honda 7.653
5 Sylvain Guintoli Honda 14.487
6 Leandro Mercado Ducati 19.363
7 Randy de Puniet Suzuki 22.468
8 Niccolo Canepa Ducati 22.530
9  David Salom Kawasaki 27.596
10 Ayrton Badovini BMW 29.294
11 Christophe Ponsson Kawasaki 1'02.181
12 Gianluca Vizziello Kawasaki 1'05.246
13 Gabor Rizmayer BMW 1'05.256
14 Imre Toth BMW 2'04.813
15 Alex Phillis Kawasaki 2 Laps
Ret  Roman Ramos Kawasaki  
Ret Jordi Torres Aprilia  
Ret  Jonathan Rea Kawasaki  
Ret  Leon Camier MV Agusta  
Ret  Alex Lowes Suzuki  
DNS  Xavi Fores    


Qatar WSBK: Torres beats Rea to maiden win in fierce scrap

Previous article

Qatar WSBK: Torres beats Rea to maiden win in fierce scrap

Next article

Forward makes WSBK switch with MV Agusta

Forward makes WSBK switch with MV Agusta
Load comments