Qatar WSBK: Davies ends season with sixth straight win

Chaz Davies completed his perfect run at the end of the 2016 World Superbike season by winning Race 2 in Qatar, which was red-flagged due to an oil spill.

Similarly to the start of Race 1, Davies made a move on newly-crowned champion Jonathan Rea at Turn 1, but the latter fought back to retake the lead on the outside of the second corner.

Davies got ahead later on the opening lap, and soon he led the race by himself after Rea ran wide at the first turn on the second lap, dropping to 13th.

Davies quickly built a lead of a second, taking advantage of Tom Sykes passing Sylvain Guintoli for second and the Welshman rapidly extended the gap even further.

His lead was up to nearly three seconds when the Kawasaki of Saeed Al-Sulaiti caught fire and, the local rider having spilled oil on track, the race was red-flagged.

Davies kept the lead from Sykes following the restart, and the duo were soon joined by Rea, who forced his way up from ninth in just two laps.

Rea soon also went past his Kawasaki teammate and, having shown superior pace, he was close behind Davis for the final three laps.

However, Rea could not make an overtaking attempt and let Sykes past on the final lap, allowing the latter to beat Davies to second in the standings.

Guintoli finished fourth ahead of guest rider Leon Haslam and Jordi Torres, who passed reigning European Superstock champion and wildcard teammate Raffaele de Rosa for sixth.

De Rosa eventually only finished ninth, having also been passed by Nicky Hayden, who started from the pitlane for exceeding his allocation of engines, and Xavi Fores.

The top 10 was completed by Yamaha's Alex Lowes, who ran wide in tandem with Lorenzo Savadori at the start.

Davide Giugliano failed to kick off the race after a crash in Race 1, causing his old shoulder-injury to cause him pain once again.

Race 2 results

1  Chaz Davies  Ducati  
2  Tom Sykes  Kawasaki 5.855
3  Jonathan Rea  Kawasaki 6.376
4  Sylvain Guintoli  Yamaha 8.493
5  Leon Haslam  Kawasaki 11.862
6  Jordi Torres  BMW 12.232
7  Nicky Hayden  Honda 13.599
8  Xavi Forés  Ducati 14.210
9  Raffaele De Rosa  BMW 14.282
10  Alex Lowes  Yamaha 14.414
11  Michael van der Mark Honda 15.169
12  Lorenzo Savadori  Aprilia 19.401
13  Leon Camier  MV Agusta 22.236
14  Roman Ramos  Kawasaki 25.995
15  Markus Reiterberger  BMW 29.701
16  Luca Scassa  Ducati 33.205
17  Gianluca Vizziello  Kawasaki 44.627
18  Dominic Schmitter  Kawasaki 44.753
19  Peter Sebestyen  Yamaha 45.186
20  Pawel Szkopek  Yamaha 1'00.135
   Karel Abraham  BMW 1 lap
   Alex de Angelis  Aprilia 10 laps
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World Superbike
Event Losail
Track Losail International Circuit
Drivers Tom Sykes , Chaz Davies , Jonathan Rea
Teams Ducati Team
Article type Race report