Phillip Island WSBK: Rea beats crashing Davies to second victory

Jonathan Rea remained unbeatable at the opening World Superbike weekend of the 2016 season at Phillip Island, having once again emerged victorious from a battle against Chaz Davies.

Similarly to Race 1, the opening sequence of corners saw Rea grabbing the lead – but Tom Sykes was back in first place before the end of Lap 1.

The pole-sitter headed the field in the early parts of the race only to lose three places at halfway point after running wide.

His woes soon continued after being slightly nudged by Davide Giugliano, the duo dropping back to sixth and seventh.

Having slipped past Rea soon after Sykes's mistake, Michael van der Mark held the lead for several laps.

However, a twitch on the exit of the final turn allowed to Rea and Davies to overtake the Dutchman with four laps to go, promising a similar showdown to the one from Saturday's race.

An ambitious move earned the Welshman the lead on the penultimate lap but Rea forced his way back up on the main straight.

Having tried the same deep overtaking attempt on the final lap, Davies lost control of his bike and dropped down the order with Rea making it home first.

Van der Mark secured second as Giugliano, recovering from his incident with Sykes, denied Nicky Hayden his maiden WSBK podium with a final lap overtake.

Yamaha's Sylvain Guintoli took fifth, followed by Sykes.

The BMW trio of Jordi Torres, Markus Reiterberger and local driver Josh Brookes finished seventh, eighth and ninth respectively with Davies settling for 10th.

1 United KingdomJonathan Rea Kawasaki Racing Kawasaki ZX-10R 33:48.377
2 NetherlandsMichael van der Mark Honda World Superbike Team Honda CBR1000RR SP +0.831
3 ItalyDavide Giugliano Ducati Team Ducati 1199 Panigale R +1.472
4 United StatesNicky Hayden Honda World Superbike Team Honda CBR1000RR SP +1.511
5 FranceSylvain Guintoli Pata Yamaha Official WSBK Team Yamaha YZF-R1 +2.439
6 United KingdomTom Sykes Kawasaki Racing Kawasaki ZX-10R +3.320
7 SpainJordi Torres Althea BMW Racing Team BMW S1000 RR +13.744
8 Markus Reiterberger Althea BMW Racing Team BMW S1000 RR +15.084
9 Joshua Brookes Milwaukee BMW BMW S1000 RR +15.106
10 United KingdomChaz Davies Ducati Team Ducati 1199 Panigale R +16.276
11 Czech RepublicKarel Abraham Milwaukee BMW BMW S1000 RR +30.147
12 SpainRoman Ramos Team Go Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10R +30.251
13 San MarinoAlex de Angelis IodaRacing Team Aprilia RSV4 RF +30.437
14 United KingdomAlex Lowes Pata Yamaha Official WSBK Team Yamaha YZF-R1 +39.946
15 Sylvain Barrier Pedercini Racing Kawasaki ZX-10R +53.515
16 Dominic Schmitter Grillini Racing Team Kawasaki ZX-10R +58.450
17 Saeed Al Sulaiti Pedercini Racing Kawasaki ZX-10R +1:01.836
18 HungaryPeter Sebestyen Team Toth Yamaha YZF-R1 +1:30.672
19 HungaryImre Toth Team Toth Yamaha YZF-R1 +1 lap
R Mike Jones Desmo Sport Ducati Ducati 1199 Panigale R  
R Leon Camier MV Agusta MV Agusta 1000 F4  
R Lorenzo Savadori IodaRacing Team Aprilia RSV4 RF  

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World Superbike
Event Phillip Island
Track Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit
Drivers Jonathan Rea
Teams Kawasaki Racing
Article type Race report