Buriram WSBK: Rea beats Sykes to take third straight win

Jonathan Rea continued his perfect start to the 2016 World Superbike season after beating Kawasaki teammate Tom Sykes to win race one at Buriram.

The Northern Irishman spent the majority of the race second behind Sykes, and made a late overtake to continue being the only WSBK race winner at Buriram.

Pole-sitter Michael van der Mark lost ground in the beginning of the race, falling behind the Kawasakis as well as Chaz Davies on the opening lap.

He fought back to take third from the Ducati rider and started to put pressure on the leading duo, only to run wide and lose ground.

The Dutchman failed to make up the time afterwards, allowing Sykes and Rea to fight it out for the win.

Although a mistake from the reigning champion gave Sykes breathing space for a couple of laps, Rea was back all over his teammate and eventually made a move with five laps to go.

No further drama for Rea allowed him to take the chequered flag first for the third time in as many races, with Sykes securing his first podium of the season.

Van der Mark ended up third, while his teammate Nicky Hayden was forced to retire with engine problems.

Failing to keep up with the top three, Davies had to keep teammate Davide Giugliano at bay and secured fourth after the Italian crashed out late on.

Markus Reiterberger (Althea BMW) secured fifth as a result, the rookie edging ahead of the Yamahas of Alex Lowes and Sylvain Guintoli.

The second Althea BMW of Jordi Torres took eighth, having overtaken the Ioda Aprilias of MotoGP convert Alex de Angelis and reigning FIM Superstock 1000 champion Lorenzo Savadori.

Race 1 results:

Pos. Driver Bike Time/Gap
1 United KingdomJonathan Rea Kawasaki 31'32.311
2 United KingdomTom Sykes Kawasaki 0.222
3 NetherlandsMichael van der Mark Honda 9.623
4 United KingdomChaz Davies Ducati 17.167
5 GermanyMarkus Reiterberger BMW 18.894
6 United KingdomAlex Lowes Yamaha 20.754
7 FranceSylvain Guintoli Yamaha 24.221
8 SpainJordi Torres BMW 31.064
9 San MarinoAlex de Angelis Aprilia 34.348
10 ItalyLorenzo Savadori Aprilia 34.479
11 United KingdomLeon Camier MV Agusta 37.013
12 SpainRoman Ramos Kawasaki 41.113
13 ItalyMatteo Baiocco Ducati 44.369
14 SpainXavi Fores Ducati 45.053
15 Josh Brookes BMW 51.939
16 FranceSylvain Barrier Kawasaki 54.314
17 Saeed Al Sulaiti Kawasaki 1'06.541
18 ItalyDavide Giugliano Ducati 1'09.530
19  Dominic Schmitter Kawasaki 1'40.904
20 HungaryPeter Sebestyen Yamaha 1 Lap
21 Shustchai Kaewjaturaporn Kawasaki 1 Lap
22 HungaryImre Toth Yamaha 1 Lap
23  Anucha Nakcharoensri Yamaha 3 Laps
Ret Karel Abraham BMW  
Ret Nicky Hayden Honda  
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World Superbike
Event Buriram
Track Chang International Circuit
Teams Kawasaki Racing
Article type Race report