Formula 1
31 Jul
Event finished
07 Aug
FP1 in
23 Hours
32 Minutes
33 Seconds
24 Jul
Event finished
07 Aug
FP1 in
21 Hours
27 Minutes
33 Seconds
Formula E
06 Aug
QU in
01 Hours
47 Minutes
33 Seconds
02 Aug
Event finished
08 Aug
Race 1 in
2 days
17 Jul
Event finished
21 Aug
Next event in
14 days
19 Nov
Next event in
104 days
12 Jul
Event finished
28 Aug
Next event in
21 days

Jerez WSBK: Bautista wins, Rea goes from last to fourth

Jerez WSBK: Bautista wins, Rea goes from last to fourth
Jun 9, 2019, 9:31 AM

Ducati rider Alvaro Bautista led every lap of the World Superbike Superpole race at Jerez while his title rival Jonathan Rea recovered to fourth from last position on the grid.

Bautista inherited pole position for the short-distance race when Rea was relegated to the back of the grid after hitting Alex Lowes at the last corner in Saturday's Race 1.

He kept the lead off the line and led all 10 laps of the race, comfortably winning by 2.7 seconds.

GRT Yamaha's Marco Melandri spent most of the race in second, first leading Leon Haslam and Tom Sykes before Michael van der Mark and Lowes started to gain ground.

Lowes ended up crashing out at Turn 7, failing to score for the second race in a row, but his Yamaha teammate van der Mark passed both Sykes and Haslam before attacking Melandri.

Van der Mark finally took second with three laps remaining at Turn 6 to repeat his Race 1 result, with Melandri completing the podium.

Rea, after gaining eight positions on the opening lap to run 10th, quickly passed Chaz Davies, benefited from Toprak Razgatlioglu and Jordi Torres both going wide and overtook Sykes and Haslam to move up to fourth by the halfway point of the race.

However, from then on, he couldn't close in on the Yamahas of Melandri and van der Mark and settled for fourth.

BMW rider Sykes beat Haslam to fifth with two more Kawasakis, Razgatlioglu (Puccetti) and Torres (Pedercini) completing the top eight.

Sandro Cortese (GRT Yamaha) finished ninth followed by three Ducatis: Chaz Davies, Michael Ruben Rinaldi (Barni) and Tommy Bridewell (GoEleven).

Loris Baz (Ten Kate Yamaha) was unable to start the race.

Cla Rider Bike Laps Gap
1 Spain Alvaro Bautista Ducati 10  
2 Netherlands Michael van der Mark Yamaha 10 2.743
3 Italy Marco Melandri Yamaha 10 2.954
4 United Kingdom Jonathan Rea Kawasaki 10 4.749
5 United Kingdom Tom Sykes BMW 10 7.443
6 United Kingdom Leon Haslam Kawasaki 10 7.710
7 Turkey Toprak Razgatlioglu Kawasaki 10 9.565
8 Spain Jordi Torres Kawasaki 10 11.937
9 Germany Sandro Cortese Yamaha 10 12.243
10 United Kingdom Chaz Davies Ducati 10 12.958
11 Italy Michael Ruben Rinaldi Ducati 10 15.062
12 United Kingdom Tommy Bridewell Ducati 10 16.760
13 Argentina Leandro Mercado Kawasaki 10 19.067
14 Japan Yuki Takahashi Honda 10 19.496
15 Germany Markus Reiterberger BMW 10 19.791
16 Italy Alessandro Del Bianco Honda 10 27.469
17 Japan Ryuichi Kiyonari Honda 10 27.770
  United Kingdom Alex Lowes Yamaha 3  
  France Loris Baz Yamaha    
Rea penalised for Lowes crash at Jerez

Previous article

Rea penalised for Lowes crash at Jerez

Next article

Jerez WSBK: Van der Mark wins red-flagged race, Bautista crashes

Jerez WSBK: Van der Mark wins red-flagged race, Bautista crashes
Load comments

About this article

Series World Superbike
Event Jerez
Sub-event SBK SP Race
Drivers Alvaro Bautista
Teams Ducati Aruba.IT
Author David Gruz