Aragon WSBK: Davies storms clear to seal double victory

Chaz Davies took another dominant win in the second World Superbike race at Aragon, completing a convincing double victory aboard the Ducati.

Starting from fourth on the grid, Davies immediately jumped to third at the start behind the Kawasakis of Tom Sykes and Jonathan Rea, demoting the latter mere corners later to grab second.

It didn't take long for Davies to arrive on the rear wheel of Sykes, the two enjoying a brief battle on the second lap before the Welshman swept past at the final corner to take the lead.

From there, Davies was unstoppable, building a two-second cushion over Sykes in the space of six laps and ultimately going on to take his second win in succession by six seconds.

Attention then turned to the all-Kawasaki battle for second place, as Rea followed closely in Sykes' wheeltracks before blasting ahead along the back straight at the halfway mark.

Rea's time in second proved short-lived, however, as he ran wide with four laps to go at the first corner, allowing Sykes back into the runner-up spot; the reigning champion was forced to settle for the bottom step on the podium.

Behind the top three, Barni Ducati rider Xavi Fores stealthily rose up the order from his grid slot of ninth to take another impressive fourth place.

Honda's Michael van der Mark was demoted from fifth in the closing stages to seventh, first slipping behind Jordi Torres (Althea BMW) and then Davide Giugliano, who had been running fourth early on aboard the second works Ducati before slipping back with a missed gear change.

Completing the top 10 were Alex de Angelis (Ioda Aprilia) and the works Yamaha duo of Alex Lowes and Sylvain Guintoli, who immediately went backwards from their front-row grid slots.

Lowes in particular had an eventful race, dropping well down the order early on with an off-road excursion before steadily recovering to ninth, pipping teammate Guintoli on the run to the finish line.

Nicky Hayden was another rider to drop back in the first part of the race, the former MotoGP champion eventually coming into the pits with a suspected mechanical problem.

Davies' second win of the WSBK campaign puts him second in the riders' standings, 26 points adrift of Rea and three clear of Sykes. 

Race results:

1 United KingdomChaz Davies  Ducati Team Ducati 1199 Panigale R 33:36.606
2 United KingdomTom Sykes  Kawasaki Racing Kawasaki ZX-10R +6.471
3 United KingdomJonathan Rea  Kawasaki Racing Kawasaki ZX-10R +9.161
4 SpainXavi Fores  Barni Racing Team Ducati 1199 Panigale R +11.436
5 SpainJordi Torres  Althea BMW Racing Team BMW S1000 RR +15.969
6 ItalyDavide Giugliano  Ducati Team Ducati 1199 Panigale R +18.278
7 NetherlandsMichael van der Mark  Honda World Superbike Team Honda CBR1000RR SP +20.931
8 San MarinoAlex de Angelis  IodaRacing Team Aprilia RSV4 RF +24.790
9 United KingdomAlex Lowes  Pata Yamaha Official WSBK Team Yamaha YZF-R1 +25.246
10 FranceSylvain Guintoli  Pata Yamaha Official WSBK Team Yamaha YZF-R1 +25.548
11 ItalyLorenzo Savadori  IodaRacing Team Aprilia RSV4 RF +27.675
12 SpainRoman Ramos  Team Go Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10R +29.364
13 AustraliaJosh Brookes  Milwaukee BMW BMW S1000 RR +31.749
14 Czech RepublicKarel Abraham  Milwaukee BMW BMW S1000 RR +34.314
15 GermanyMarkus Reiterberger  Althea BMW Racing Team BMW S1000 RR +34.333
16 United KingdomLeon Camier  MV Agusta MV Agusta 1000 F4 +34.777
17 ItalyMatteo Baiocco  VFT Racing Ducati 1199 Panigale R +41.449
18  Mathieu Lussiana  Team ASPI BMW S1000 RR +1:16.542
19 SwitzerlandDominic Schmitter  Grillini Racing Team Kawasaki ZX-10R +1:22.960
20 HungaryPeter Sebestyen  Team Toth Yamaha YZF-R1 +1:25.830
21 QatarSaeed Al Sulaiti  Pedercini Racing Kawasaki ZX-10R +1:28.363
22 HungaryImre Toth  Team Toth Yamaha YZF-R1 +1 lap
R Nicky Hayden  Honda World Superbike Team Honda CBR1000RR SP  
R  Josh Hook  Grillini Racing Team Kawasaki ZX-10R  
R Sylvain Barrier  Pedercini Racing Kawasaki ZX-10R  
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World Superbike
Event Aragon
Track Motorland Aragon
Drivers Tom Sykes , Chaz Davies , Jonathan Rea
Article type Race report