WRC start order rule change approved for 2015

The change is not popular among many top teams.

A rule change regarding the running order in WRC has been ratified by the WMSC, despite some push back from top drivers and most notably, two-time and current series champion Sebastien Ogier.

As it was, the championship leader would run first in the opening leg, but reverse order was used in the legs that followed.

FIA Statement

"The running order for FIA World Rally Championship events will be in championship order for Friday and Saturday."

"On Sunday, P1 and P2 crews will run in reverse classification order. P1 and P2 drivers who have retired will restart the subsequent day/s at the front of this group."

"From next season, rallies will continue to be organised over two and half days, from Friday to Sunday, with a minimum of 300 kilometres of special stages. A ceremonial start or super special stage can be organised on Thursday."

"Organisers will also be encouraged to ensure their event has unique qualities, new and longer stages to help create closer competition and fresh opportunities for the media."

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WRC
Drivers Sébastien Ogier
Article type Breaking news