Petter Solberg Rally Deutschland summary

Petter Solberg World Rally Team press release

Petter and Chris are third fastest through the Power Stage.

Petter Solberg and Chris Patterson, Citroën DS3 WRC, Petter Solberg Rallying
Petter Solberg and Chris Patterson, Citroën DS3 WRC, Petter Solberg Rallying

Photo by: xpb.cc

Petter and Chris started the final day of Rallye Deutschland in sixth position overall and were third fastest through the first stage, SS15. They then managed to push up to fifth overall ahead of Mini’s Kris Meeke on the second stage of the morning. SS17 saw the team extend this lead to 7.1 seconds with a fourth fastest time, despite going off the road briefly towards the end of the stage. Meeke was to retire on the following stage after a loss of power and Petter lost a few seconds in the same stage after going straight on at a junction.

At 4.37kms, SS19 the Circus Maximus Superspecial in Trier was the closing stage of the rally and the first time a Power Stage has been run through the streets of a city. Petter and Chris were third fastest through, fractions of a second faster than Ford’s Jari-Matti Latvala, earning them one bonus point. Maximum bonus points went to Citroën’s Sebastien Loeb for winning the Power stage followed by two bonus points for his team mate Sebastien Ogier.

- I am really satisfied with this fifth place, says Petter Solberg. - The works cars have developed quickly over the last events. That makes it even better for us, as a private team, to be keeping up with their speed. Without the puncture problems on Saturday it could have been even better. - It felt really good to score one extra point at the Circus Maximus, with just 0.04 seconds to Jari-Matti.

Sebastien Ogier is the winner of ADAC Rallye Deutschland, his first victory on a WRC tarmac round. He ends Sebastien Loeb’s run of eight victories in Germany. Petter and Chris finish the rally in fifth place overall.

The next event is Rally Australia 8th – 11th September 2011

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WRC
Drivers Petter Solberg , Sébastien Loeb , Kris Meeke , Jari-Matti Latvala , Chris Patterson , Sébastien Ogier
Teams Citroën World Rally Team
Tags citroen, germany, solberg