Wales WRC: Ogier takes win, Meeke secures second on home soil

Volkswagen's Sebastien Ogier cruised to his eighth victory of the WRC season with a comfortable Day 3 performance in a severely wet and rainy Rally Wales.

Ogier coasted in the final two stages of the rally, going fifth and ninth-fastest respectively and finishing with an overall lead of 26 seconds.

The Frenchman, however, looked sombre at the finish line as he paid his respects to the victims of the terrorist attack that took place Friday night in Paris.

"Victory here is the best way to finish the season but there is no point to celebrate anything today. We have other things on our mind. It has been a difficult weekend," said the champion.

Kris Meeke produced a likewise controlled drive to secure Citroen’s second place in the teams’ championship.

The Nothern Irishman did enough to keep a 10-second gap over Andreas Mikkelsen, who had to settle for third in both the timesheets and the series' standings.

Hyundai duo Dani Sordo and Hayden Paddon secured fourth and fifth, followed by local driver Elfyn Evans and Mads Ostberg.

Fellow VW teammate Jari-Matti Latvala salvaged some positives from a woeful Rally GB outing as he locked out Day 3, topping SS18 and the collecting the three points for the fastest time in SS19.

Robert Kubica picked up the final Power Stage point behind Latvala and Mikkelsen and finished ninth overall, behind Citroen’s Stephane Lefebvre and ahead of Ford privateer Lorenzo Bertelli.

Final results:

Pos. Driver / Co-Driver Car Time/Delay

Sebastien Ogier

Julien Ingrassia

VW 3h03m02.0s

Kris Meeke

Paul Nagle

Citroen 26.0s

Andreas Mikkelsen

Ola Floene

VW 36.2s

Dani Sordo

Marc Marti

Hyundai 2m51.3s

Hayden Paddon

John Kennard

Hyundai 3m00.5s

Elfyn Evans

Daniel Barritt

Ford 3m09.1s

Mads Ostberg

Jonas Andersson

Citroen 4m28.4s

Stephane Lefebvre

Stephane Prevot

Citroen 5m38.4s

Robert Kubica

Maciek Szczepaniak

Ford 6m22.7s

Lorenzo Bertelli

 Lorenzo Granai

Ford 8m05.0s
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WRC
Event Rally Wales GB
Drivers Kris Meeke , Andreas Mikkelsen , Sébastien Ogier
Teams Volkswagen Motorsport
Article type Leg report