Sweden WRC: Latvala wins sprint stage as second day concludes

Jari-Matti Latvala went fastest in the Karlstad superspecial, which served as the final run of Rally Sweden's Saturday action.

The first leader of the 1.9km-long stage, which the field completed in pairs, was Sebastien Ogier, having gone three tenths quicker than teammate Andreas Mikkelsen.

However, he was quickly demoted by Mads Ostberg, who then had to surrender to Estonian Ott Tanak.

The DMACK driver held onto the lead until the final duo of Jari-Matti Latvala and Kris Meeke, the Finn impressively beating the field by 2.6s.

Tanak eventually had to settle for third, having been edged out by the Skoda Fabia R5 of Finn driver Teemu Suninen.

WRC2 contender Pontus Tidemand also impressed by going fourth fastest, beating most of the main category.

The quartet of Henning Solberg, Dani Sordo, Ostberg and Elfyn Evans, leader of the secondary class, were only separated by a single tenth between fifth and eighth.

2015 FIA WRX runner-up and local driver Johan Kristoffersson, who is participating in his maiden rally event, took ninth.

Citroen's Meeke was 10th with Ogier dropping as low as 12th, sandwiching Tidemand's teammate Esapekka Lappi.

Hyundai duo Thierry Neuville, Hayden Paddon and Andreas Mikkelsen all dropped out of the top 10.

Having completed the penultimate test of the rally, Ogier will kick off Sunday's Power Stage with a lead of 17.1s over Paddon.

Standings after SS17:

Pos. Driver / Co-Driver Car Time/Delay

 Sebastien Ogier

 Julien Ingrassia

VW 1h50m25.8s

 Hayden Paddon

 John Kennard

Hyundai 17.1s

 Mads Ostberg

 Ola Floene

Ford 42.3s

 Andreas Mikkelsen

 Anders Jaeger

VW 1m07.4s

 Ott Tanak

 Raigo Molder

Ford 1m31.6s

 Dani Sordo

 Marc Marti

Hyundai 1m56.3s

 Henning Solberg

 Ilka Minor-Petrasko

Ford 2m17.2s

 Craig Breen

 Scott Martin

Citroen 2m20.8s

 Elfyn Evans

 Craig Parry

Ford 4m44.7s

 Pontus Tidemand

 Jonas Andersson

Skoda 5m02.6s
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WRC
Event Rally Sweden
Drivers Jari-Matti Latvala
Teams Volkswagen Motorsport
Article type Stage report