Petter Solberg Rally Argentina Event Summary

Cordoba-Villa Carlos Paz

A fantastic final day in Argentina for Petter Solberg and Chris Patterson.

Victory on the Power Stage and a resulting three bonus points ended a fantastic final day for the Petter Solberg World Rally Team. The day started with Petter and Chris second fastest through the longest stage of the Championship so far, 48.21km Ascochinga-Agua De Oro. Rally leader Sebastien Ogier rolled but managed to continue and complete the stage, then as a result had to finish the rest of the rally with power-steering problems. SS17 was Cabalango-Villa Garcia, which would run again as the Power Stage and on this first pass through Petter and Chris were third fastest while Ford’s Jari-Matti Latvala was quickest, followed by Citroën’s Sebastien Loeb.

Stage win for the Team was next on the Carlos Paz Super Special stage which had opened Rally Argentina and was used once more as SS18, then came the spectacular win on the final stage of the day, the Power Stage. Loeb took the rally win from his team-mate Sebastien Ogier who finished the rally in third place. Second went to Ford’s Mikko Hirvonen

Petter Solberg and Chris Patterson, Citroën DS3 WRC, Petter Solberg Rallying
Petter Solberg and Chris Patterson, Citroën DS3 WRC, Petter Solberg Rallying

Photo by: xpb.cc

– I’m so happy about finally getting that Power Stage win, says Petter Solberg. – That was good fun, and a real bonus for me but of course, at the same time I’m a bit disappointed about not being on the podium. We had the chance, and without the problem yesterday evening, I am sure we would have been in a real fight for the win today.

Today Petter has been awarded the Abu Dhabi Spirit of the rally award for his 400th stage win and yesterday Petter’s Facebook fanpage got more than 150,000 likes. Join us, and his fans at www.facebook.com/PetterSolbergWRC

The next event is Acropolis Rally of Greece 16th - 19th June 2011

-source: petter solberg

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WRC
Drivers Petter Solberg , Sébastien Loeb , Jari-Matti Latvala , Mikko Hirvonen , Chris Patterson , Sébastien Ogier
Teams Citroën World Rally Team
Tags argentina, citroen, solberg