Ogier takes Rally Australia victory in a VW 1-2-3

Jari-Matti Latvala took a shot at his teammate but failed to catch him.

Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia claimed their sixth win of the season, beating team-mates Jari-Matti Latvala and Miikka Anttila by 6.8 seconds after just over 300 kilometres of competition. Locking out the podium for the team and the Polo R WRC, Andreas Mikkelsen and Ola Floene finished third. And, to round off the perfect weekend, Volkswagen Motorsport claimed the FIA World Rally Championship for Manufacturers.

The championship outlook 

In the FIA World Rally Championship for Drivers, the Volkswagen drivers continue to battle for the crown, with Ogier, Latvala and Mikkelsen the only ones now mathematically able to clinch the title. While Volkswagen has secured the Manufacturers’ Championship with three rounds remaining, Citroën, M-Sport and Hyundai all continue to battle for second position.

Latvala fails to hold lead 

The final day of competition in Rally Australia took the crews over two identical loops of three stages covering 100.58 competitive kilometres, so it was no cruise to the finish. Ogier entered the final day in the lead but it was Latvala who set the pace in the first stage, pushing hard to overhaul his team-mate. The battling duo traded fastest times throughout the day but Latvala was simply unable to close the gap, but took some consolation in claiming the additional maximum points on the Power Stage.

Mikkelsen comes home P3

Mikkelsen had an uneventful drive to third today, such was the gap to Kris Meeke who incurred a penalty overnight for a large corner cut yesterday. He was docked one position in the overall classification, ruling out a battle with Mikkelsen today. He nevertheless finished fourth with a chasing Mikko Hirvonen just 9.6 seconds further adrift. Hayden Paddon finished first of the Hyundai i20 WRC drivers in sixth - his best result in a world rally car - with team-mate Thierry Neuville seventh. Elfyn Evans, Robert Kubica and Chris Atkinson rounded off the top 10 after Mads Østberg dropped 11 minutes with suspension damage.

Coming up next

The FIA World Rally Championship contenders now head back to Europe for Rallye de France Alsace (2-5 October). 
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WRC
Event Rally Australia
Sub-event Leg three
Drivers Kris Meeke , Jari-Matti Latvala , Mikko Hirvonen , Robert Kubica , Miikka Anttila , Chris Atkinson , Andreas Mikkelsen , Ola Floene , Sébastien Ogier , Julien Ingrassia , Hayden Paddon , Thierry Neuville , Elfyn Evans
Teams Citroën World Rally Team , M-Sport , Volkswagen Motorsport
Article type Race report