Monte Carlo WRC: Ogier tops Power Stage, wraps up victory

Reigning WRC champion Sebastien Ogier secured his third straight Rally Monte Carlo victory by maintaining his two-minute lead during the final three stages of the event.

Even though he claimed not to have taken any risks on Day 4, Ogier still picked up two stage victories - including in the Power Stage - leaving the season opener with 28 points in his tally.

Having set the pace in the penultimate stage, Andres Mikkelsen kicked off the final run with a lead of 21.6s over Thierry Neuville.

However, the Belgian was suffering from transmission issues and lost over a minute, settling for third behind the Volkswagen 1-2.

Mads Ostberg had a consistent final day to secure fourth on his M-Sport return, followed by Citroen’s Stephane Lefebvre and Dani Sordo, who was only 1.3s slower than Ogier in the Power Stage.

New team DMACK completed its debut with a seventh place by Ott Tanak, who finished ahead of former M-Sport teammate and WRC2 winner Elfyn Evans.

Overall standings:

Pos. Driver / Co-Driver Car Time/Delay

Sebastien Ogier

Julien Ingrassia

VW 3h49m53.1s

Andreas Mikkelsen

Anders Jaeger

VW 1m54.5s

Thierry Neuville

Nicolas Gilsoul
Hyundai 3m17.9s

Mads Ostberg

Ola Floene

Ford 4m47.7s

Stephane Lefebvre

Gabin Moreau

Citroen 7m35.6s

Dani Sordo

Marc Marti

Hyundai 10m35.5s

Ott Tanak

Raigo Molder

Ford 11m39.9s

Elfyn Evans

Craig Parry

Ford 18m30.8s

Esapekka Lappi

Janne Ferm

Skoda 20m41.0s

Armin Kremer

Pirmin Winklhofer

Skoda 20m43.9s
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WRC
Event Rally Monte Carlo
Drivers Sébastien Ogier
Teams Volkswagen Motorsport
Article type Leg report