Mexico WRC: Latvala seals victory as Ogier tops Power Stage

Jari-Matti Latvala cruised through the Power Stage to complete Rally Mexico in first place and score his first points of the season.

However, it was Volkswagen teammate Sebastien Ogier who set the fastest time in the Power Stage to leave his 100th WRC rally with 21 points.

He went 5.4s faster than Latvala, while Hayden Paddon secured the final point-scoring position as he grabbed fifth overall.

The Kiwi driver narrowly outpaced Mads Ostberg, who sealed his third consecutive top four finish and sits second in the standings.

Dani Sordo completed the stage in fifth to become Hyundai's third different podium finisher in as many rallies.

DMACK driver Ott Tanak finished sixth, followed by Ford privateers Martin Prokop and Lorenzo Bertelli.

Teemu Suninen scored two points in addition to his WRC2 victory by ending up ninth overall, as Valeriy Gorban completed the top 10.

Final standings:

Pos. Driver / Co-Driver Car Time/Delay

 Jari-Matti Latvala

 Miikka Anttila

VW 4h25m57.4s

 Sebastien Ogier

 Julien Ingrassia

VW 1m05.0s
3  Dani Sordo

 Marc Marti

Hyundai 3m37.9s

 Mads Ostberg

 Ola Floene

Ford 5m36.4s

 Hayden Paddon

 John Kennard

Hyundai 6m22.6s

 Ott Tanak

 Raigo Molder

Ford 9m59.5s

 Martin Prokop

 Jan Tomanek

Ford 12m58.5s

 Lorenzo Bertelli

 Simone Scattolin

Ford 14m09.6s

 Teemu Suninen

 Mikko Markkula

Skoda 18m01.8s

Valeriy Gorban

Volodymyr Korsia

Mini 32m37.3s


Championship standings:

1  Sebastien Ogier VW 77
2  Mads Ostberg Ford 39
3  Andreas Mikkelsen VW 33
4  Dani Sordo Hyundai 33
5  Hayden Paddon Hyundai 29
6  Jari-Matti Latvala VW 27
7  Ott Tanak Ford 24
8  Thierry Neuville Hyundai 15
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WRC
Event Rally Mexico
Sub-event Leg three
Drivers Jari-Matti Latvala
Teams Volkswagen Motorsport
Article type Stage report